Woodford, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Woodford, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Woodford

Guide to Woodford, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

WOODFORD, a township, in the parish of Prestbury, union and hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester, 6 miles (S. by W.) from Stockport. [1]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.


Church Records

Woodford Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Woodford Christ Church Parish (1873) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1842-1909
  NONE
1874-1934
  NONE
1848-1922
  NONE
FS BT's
1842-1892
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1854-1892
  NONE

Woodford was founded in 1842 as a chapel to Prestbury and made a Parish in 1873.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Woodford, Cheshire, 1842-1935 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P148/1-3.

Parish Registers: Woodford Film
Baptisms, 1842-1926. Marriages, 1874-1935. Burials, 1848-1922.
2106684 Items 2 - 4

Bishop's transcripts for Woodford, 1842-1892 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 227

Bishops Transcripts: Woodford
Film
Baptisms, 1Baptisms, 1842, 1844-1846, 1848, 1850, 1852, baptisms, burials, 1854-1860, baptisms, 1861, baptisms, burials, 1862-1866, 1891-1892.881-1891, 1893, 1892, 1894-1897, 1899.
1647761 Item 5

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Macclesfield (1837-1939)

Poor Law Unions

  • Macclesfield

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 652-654. Date accessed: 24 January 2014.


Bibliography


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2015, at 03:23.
  • This page has been accessed 438 times.