Woodford, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Woodford, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Woodford

Guide to Woodford, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Woodford, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Becontree
County Essex
Poor Law Union West Ham
Registration District West Ham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1638
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office


Parish History

WOODFORD (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of West Ham, the hundred of Beacontree, and S. division of Essex, it is 8 miles (N. E. by N.) from London. The church, was erected on the site of a former edifice, in 1817, and is situated in the lowest part of the village, on the west side of the London road. An episcopal chapel has been built; and there are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Woodford, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
Woodford, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1638-1978 1638-1918 1539-1834
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
PALL 1790-1837

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office

Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

St Mary
High Rd
Baptisms 1638-1978
Marriages 1638-1974
Burials 1638-1899: ERO
Burials 1638-1812: EoLFHS Publications

Woodford Wells Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

All Saints
Woodford Wells
Baptisms 1874-1888
Marriages 1876-1902: ERO

Holy Trinity
Hermon Hill
South Woodford
Baptisms 1887-1964
Marriages 1888-1975: ERO

St Andrew
Chingford Rd
Woodford Wells
Formed 1888

St Barnabas
Snakes Lane East
Woodford Green
Baptisms 1904-1969
Marriages 1911-1970: ERO

St Paul
Manor Rd
Woodford Bridge
Baptisms 1854-1940
Marriages 1855-1958
Burials 1854-1960

St Philip & St James
Grove Hill
South Woodford
Marriages 1952-1970: ERO

St Thomas of Canterbury
(Roman Catholic)
High Rd
Woodford Green
Formed 1894

Dr Barnardo's Homes (Boys)
Manor Rd
Woodford Bridge
Baptisms 1911-1967: Barnardo

Wesleyan Methodist Chapel
Derby Rd
South Woodford
Baptisms 1877-1953: ERO

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241362.

Poor Law Unions

West Ham Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted 7 June 2013
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 20:07.
  • This page has been accessed 5,133 times.