Woodhouse Eaves, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Woodhouse Eaves, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Woodhouse Eaves, Leicestershire
St Paul Woodhouse Eaves Leicestershire.jpg
St Paul Woodhouse Eaves, Leicestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Barrow upon Soar
Registration District Barrow upon Soar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: 1844
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office


Parish History

Woodhouse Eaves is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Leicestershire, created as a District church in 1839 from Barrow upon Soar, Leicestershire Ancient Parish,   Newtown Linford, Leicestershire, and Ulverscroft, Leicestershire (extra-parochial).

WOODHOUSE, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Barrow-upon-Soar, hundred of West Goscote,N. division of the county of Leicester, 3 miles (S. W.)from Loughborough. A district church has been erected at Woodhouse-Eaves, in Charnwood Forest. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Woodhouse Eaves like this:

WOODHOUSE-EAVES, a chapelry, with a village, in Barrow-upon-Soar parish, Leicester; 4¼ miles S by W of Loughborough r. station. It takes its name from including part of Wood house township, and from lying on the eaves or edge of Charnwood forest; it was constituted in 1844. There are Baptist and Wesleyan chapels.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Woodhouse Eaves Bap 1844 - 1971 Marr 1837 - 1983 (Banns to 1969) Bur 1844 - 1978

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438744.

Poor Law Unions

Barrow upon Soar Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 654-657. Date accessed: 17 September 2012.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 June 2015, at 15:45.
  • This page has been accessed 2,098 times.