Woodside, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Woodside, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Leeds; Leeds Borough; Skyrack|
|Poor Law Union||Carlton Gilbert Union|
|Registration District||Hunslet; Otley|
|Parish registers: 1847|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
WOODSIDE, an ecclesiastical parish, in the parishes of Addle, Guiseley, and Leeds, Upper division of the wapentake of Skyrack, W. riding of York, 4 miles (N. N. W.) from the town of Leeds. The Methodists and Kilhamites have places of worship. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Woodside, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|Woodside, Yorkshire Genealogy|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Guiseley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the GUISELEY PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464269.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 657-661. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 12 January 2016, at 03:20.
- This page has been accessed 2,536 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News