Woolstone, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Woolstone, Berkshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes

Guide to Woolstone, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Woolstone, Berkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shrivenham
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Faringdon
Registration District Faringdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: after 1700 in Uffington returns see headings
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office


Parish History

WOOLSTONE, a township-chapelry in Uffington parish, Berks; 1½ mile S of Uffington r. station. Post town, Uffington, under Faringdon.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Particular Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241204.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Woolstone a chapelry in Uffington Parish in GENUKI


  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 November 2015, at 17:21.
  • This page has been accessed 1,755 times.