Worcester All Saints, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Worcester All Saints, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Worcester All Saints, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Worcester
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Worcester PLU
Registration District Worcester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560; Separate registers exist for Worcester St Oswalds beginning 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613; Separate records exist for Worcester St Oswalds beginning 1752
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Worcester
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WORCESTER, a city, a county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the county of Worcester, of which it is the capital, Worcester and W. divisions of the county, 111 miles (N. W. by W.) from London. The city comprises the parishes of St. Alban, All Saints, St. Andrew, St. Clement, St. Helen, St. Martin, St. Nicholas, St. Peter, and St. Swithin, Those of St. Clement, St. Martin, and St. Peter, are partly in the Lower division of the hundred of Oswaldslow. All Saints is a discharged rectory. The living of St. Andrew's is a discharged rectory. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, Independents, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The original records are held at the Worcestershire Record Office, City Centre Branch (otherwise known as the

Worcestershire Library and History Centre)
Trinity Street
Worcester
WR1 2PW
England Tel: 01905 765922
Fax: 01905 765925
Email: WLHC@worcestershire.gov.uk
Website: www.worcestershire.gov.uk/records/

For complete information, including map and hours of operation, see www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/archon/searches/locresult_details.asp?LR=781


The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and the bishop's transcripts. For the parish registers, you will need to look in the FamilySearch Catalog under England, Worcester, Worcester and find All Saints mixed in with other parishes for the city of Worcester. The Bishop's Transcripts for Worcester are not filed by parish, but by year for the whole county. Thus, each year's transcripts are on a different film. An FHL finding aid giving FHL film numbers by parish has been compiled and is available as FHL book 942.4 K29bt, also available on microfiche at Family History Centers, fiche 6035756 (2 fiches).

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464215.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 18 October 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2015, at 14:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,227 times.