Worcester St Mark in the Cherry Orchard, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Worcester St Mark in the Cherry Orchard, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

ST MARK’S in the Cherry Orchard is the delightfully named church in a southern suburb of Worcester.Its foundation stone was officially laid on June 21, 1902. St Mark’s began life as only “a mission church” – an offshoot or outpost of the large-scale Parish of St Peter’s. For more than three decades, St Mark’s remained a mission church under the wing of St Peter’s. But a major milestone came in 1936, when it was designated “a conventional district”, making it a completely independent church with its own incumbent and own parochial church council. The natural progression from this came in 1955 with the official creation of the Parish of St Mark’s in the Cherry Orchard.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464215.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Seddon, Dorothy, History of St. Mark's Worcester (2002). Date accessed and adapted: 20 November 2013

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2015, at 14:43.
  • This page has been accessed 766 times.