Worcester St Oswald's Hospital, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Worcester St Oswald's Hospital, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Worcester St Oswald's was a chapel attached to St Oswalds Hospital. Although the foundation of the hospital is usually ascribed to St. Oswald himself, there is no charter or evidence existing to prove the truth of the statement. The first mention of the house comes when it had already become a hospital, when in 1268 William de Beauchamp left 10s. for the infirm of the hospital of St. Oswald. In 1296 William de Molendiniis, who was also a benefactor of St. Wulstan's hospital, died before he could finish the church he was building to St. Oswald, evidently in connexion with the hospital. In 1539 Nicholas Udal, then master of the hospital, leased the same with the chapel, chapel yard, etc., to John Hereford. Thus the house was saved from the ordinary dissolution, although its revenue was alienated. The advowson of the chapel was granted in 1542 to the dean and chapter of Worcester. From this time the hospital,having lost its ecclesiastical aspect, has survived as a charitable institution, which exists at the present day practically on the lines of its reorganization in 1664 and 1753. The hospital was rebuilt in 1873.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The original records are held at the Worcestershire Record Office, City Centre Branch (otherwise known as the

Worcestershire Library and History Centre)
Trinity Street
Worcester
WR1 2PW
England Tel: 01905 765922
Fax: 01905 765925
Email: WLHC@worcestershire.gov.uk
Website: www.worcestershire.gov.uk/records/

For complete information, including map and hours of operation, see www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/archon/searches/locresult_details.asp?LR=781

The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and the bishop's transcripts. To find the microfilm numbers for the parish registers, look in the FamilySearch Catalog under England, Worcester, Worcester and find St. Oswald's Hospital mixed in with other parishes for the city of Worcester. The Bishop's Transcripts for Worcester are not filed by parish, but by year for the whole county. Thus, each year's transcripts are on a different microfilm. An FHL finding aid giving FHL film numbers by parish is available as FHL book 942.4 K29bt, also available on microfiche at Family History Centers, fiche 6035756 (2 fiches).

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464215.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. 'Hospitals: Worcester',A History of the County of Worcester: Volume 2 (1971), pp. 175-179. Date accessed and adapted: 21 November 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 18:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,264 times.