Worlaby by Brigg, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Worlaby, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Worlaby by Brigg, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Worlaby by Brigg, Lincolnshire
Worlaby St Clement Lincolnshire.jpg
Worlaby St Clement Lincolnshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Louth-Eske Hundred
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Louth
Registration District Louth
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

"WORLABY (St. Clement), a parish in the union of Glandford-Brigg, N. division of the wapentake of Yarborough, parts of Lindsay, county of Lincoln, 5½ miles (N. by E.) from Glandford-Brigg. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Worlaby by Brigg St Clement is an Ancient Parish.

Worlaby is a village and civil parish in North Lincolnshire and is six miles south of Barton on Humber. It is one of five "Low Villages" South Ferriby, Lincolnshire Horkstow, Lincolnshire Saxby All Saints, Lincolnshire Bonby, Lincolnshire being the others which are between Brigg, Lincolnshire and the Humber estuary.


Civil Registration

This parish was in the Brigg sub-district of Glanford Brigg registration district. Glanford Brigg registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Worlaby by Brigg Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Worlaby (near Barnetby le Wold)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438770.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Glanford Brigg Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.




  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 14 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 May 2015, at 02:45.
  • This page has been accessed 3,026 times.