Wormhill, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wormhill, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Wormhill, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wormhill, Derbyshire
Wormhill St Margaret Derbyshire.jpg
Wormhill St Margaret Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chapel en le Frith PLU
Registration District Chapel en le Frith
Records begin
Parish registers: 1674
Bishop's Transcripts: 1680
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buxton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WORMHILL, a chapelry, in the parish of Tideswell, union of Chapel-en-le-Frith, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 2£ miles (W. S. W.) from Tideswell. The chapel is dedicated to 'St. Margaret.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wormhill chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Wormhill St Margaret (1674) Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

Wormhill St Margaret was formed as a parish in 1859 previously chapelry in Tideswell, Derbyshire

Derbyshire Record Office reference D1372 has deposited registers Bap 1674-1890 Mar 1674-1987 Burial 1674-1947 Banns 1862-1946

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1680-1879 Mar 1680-1839 Burials 1680-1879

Non-Conformist Churches

Primitive Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241291.


Poor Law Unions

Chapel en le Frith Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wormhill on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 673-687. Date accessed: 5 April, 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 12:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,664 times.