High Worsall, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to High Worsall, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|High Worsall, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Stockton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1720|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1729|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Bishop of Durham and the Dean and Chapter in Allerton and Allertonshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
High Worsall chapelry near Northallerton was in the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and chapter of Durham. it was created as a chapelry in 1729 within Northallerton, Yorkshire parish, an ancient parish.
WORSALL, HIGH, a chapelry, in the parish of Northallerton, union of Stockton, wapentake of Allertonshire, N. riding of York, 3 miles (S. S. W.) from Yarm; containing 143 inhabitants.
WORSALL, LOW, a township, in the parish of Kirk-Leavington, union of Stockton, W. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 3 miles (S. W.) from Yarm; containing 146 inhabitants. 
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described High Worsall like this:
WORSALL (High), a chapelry in Northallerton parish, N. R. Yorkshire; on the river Tees, 3 miles SW of Yarm r. station. Post town, Yarm. Acres, 1,511. Real property, £1,193. Pop., 109. Houses, 23. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of York. Value, £80. Patron, the Vicar of Northallerton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/83 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The 1727-1729 transcripts are within Durham Bishop's Transcripts: The Howe Manuscript Collection The years 1763, 1769,1780, 1785 and 1808 are found online.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
The parish registers from 1729 are available at the North Yorkshire Record Office, The County Record Office
Address: Malpas Road
Tel: 01609 777585
Fax: 01609 777078
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464227.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 12 May 2015, at 21:57.
- This page has been accessed 2,009 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News