Worthenbury, WrexhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngWrexhamGotoarrow.pngWorthenbury

A guide to genealogy in Worthenbury, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Worthenbury (Welsh: Wrddymbre) is a village and ecclesiastical parish in the County Borough of Wrexham in Wales. It is part of the community of Willington-Worthenbury.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern County Borough of Wrexham.

Contents

History

Worthenbury was originally chapelry in the parish of Bangor is y Coed. In 1658, during the Commonwealth Period, it became a parish in its own right, however, in 1661, following the Restoration, this was declared invalid. In 1689, Sir Roger Puleston, of the Puleston family of Emral Hall, long-associated with the area, obtained an Act of Parliament and Worthenbury became a separate parish again.

Until 1541 the parish was in the English Diocese of Lichfield, when it was transferred to the newly created English Diocese of Chester. In 1849, it was transferred to the Welsh Diocese of St. Asaph, where it remains today.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire (detached)
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Wrexham

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

The following registers have been deposited at the Flintshire Record Office in Hawarden:

Baptisms Marriages Burials
1597 - 1749
1755 - 1936
1598 - 1749
1754 - 1970
1597 - 1749
1755 - 1939
  • Bishop's Transcripts of all registers from 1850 to 1876 have been deposited in the National Library, Aberystwyth.
  • The Clwyd Family History Society have published several volumes of the parish registers.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 104269.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,156 times.