Wreay, CumberlandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wreay, Cumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Carlisle PLU|
|Parish registers: 1750|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1776|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
WREAY, a chapelry, in the parish of Carlisle St. Mary, union of Carlisle, Cumberland ward, E. division of the county of Cumberland, 5¾ miles (S. E. by S.) from Carlisle.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church of England Parishes (and Chapelries)
- Carisle St Cuthbert - ancient parish - 1663
- Carlisle Christ Church - 1830
- Upperby Chapel - 1846
- Carlisle St Mary - ancient parish - 1648
- Carlisle Holy Trinity - 1831
- St James Chapelry - 1863
- St Paul Chapelry - 1870
- Wreay Chapelry - 1750
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241280.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 16 June 2014, at 20:48.
- This page has been accessed 531 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Give feedback on our new look! Tell us what you like, and what you would do differently.Give Feedback