Writtle, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Writtle, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Writtle

Guide to Writtle, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Writtle, Essex
All Saints Writtle Essex.jpg
All Saints Writtle Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chelmsford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Chelmsford PLU
Registration District Chelmsford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1634
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chelmsford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Writtle with Roxwell; Post-1844 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WRITTLE (All Saints), it is a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union and hundred of Chelmsford, in the S. division of Essex, it is 2½ miles (W. by S.) from Chelmsford. A chapel was erected in the Highwood Quarter, and consecrated in Oct. 1842. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Writtle, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FAMR = FamilyRelatives - (£)[3]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
Writtle, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1634-1996 1634-1957 1634-1946
FAMR 1634-1837
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
PALL 1790-1837

Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241365.


Poor Law Unions

Chelmsford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 24 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'Essex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  4. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 20:08.
  • This page has been accessed 3,535 times.