Wysall, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wysall, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
WYSALL (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Loughborough, S. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe and of the county of Nottingham, 8¾ miles (S. by E.) from Nottingham. 
Wysall Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish in the county of Nottinghamshire. Other places in the parish include: Thorpe in the Glebe and Thorpe Bochart.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the church Wysall Holy Trinity
The church of Holy Trinity Wysall has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Wysall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|WYSALL PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1654-1937 Marriages 1654-1968 Burials 1654-1997 Bishop's Transcripts 1601-1853
Thorpe in the Glebe had a disused church and became an extra parochial area Bishop's Transcripts 1628-1631 survive at Nottinghamshire Archives.
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wysall
Wysall Monumental Inscriptions. An alphabetical listing by surname, given name, date of death, and sometimes showing relationship, and age - transcription of the Wysall Gravestones, dated from 1572. Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 19, pages 25-33, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 703-707. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- This page was last modified on 3 June 2015, at 01:42.
- This page has been accessed 2,154 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News