Y Ferwig, CeredigionEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Y Ferwig, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...
VERWIC (Y-VERWIG), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 2 1/4miles (N.) from Cardigan. This parish, which is situated on the coast of St. George's channel, is celebrated in the Welsh annals for the memorable and sanguinary resistance opposed by the natives to a body of invading Flemings, who had effected a landing on a part of the beach, called Traeth y Mount; and in the desperate battle which ensued these invaders were defeated with dreadful carnage, and their dead bodies were strewn in heaps on the sands. The church, dedicated to St. Pedrog, is a small ancient edifice, and consists of a nave and chancel separated by a large pointed arch, with a tower communicating with the nave by a similar arch of smaller dimensions; the font is elaborately ornamented, and over the porch is the date 1627. There are places of worship for Baptists and Calvinistic Methodists, with a Sunday school held in each of them.
For more information, see Genuki - Y Ferwig
|before 31 March 1974||Cardiganshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Ceredigion|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.
Maps and Gazetteers
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
- This page has been accessed 870 times.