Yancey County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Yancey County, North Carolina)

United States  go to  North Carolina  go to  Yancey County

Guide to Yancey County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records

Yancey County, North Carolina
Map of North Carolina highlighting Yancey County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Founded 1833
County Seat Burnsville
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Yancey Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Yancey County Courthouse, Burnsville, N.C.

Yancey County Courthouse
Burnsville, NC 28714
Phone: 818-682-2174

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and burial records

Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1875, pr, ct
land rec from 1870; Depart of Archive &
History in Raleigh, NC has older rec[1]

Register of Deeds
110 Town Square, Room 4
Burnsville, NC 28714
Phone: 828-682-2174
Fax: 828-682-4520

Clerk Superior Court
110 Town Sq Rm 5
Burnsville, NC 28714
Phone: (828) 678-5700


Parent County

1833--Yancey County was created from Burke and Buncombe Counties.
County seat: Burnsville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Some early records are missing. For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties





For tips on accessing Yancey County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.




Local Histories



Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

-6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company C
:- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
:- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company E



Online Probate Records


Vital Records

Birth Records
Death Records
Divorce Records

Societies and Libraries

Toe Valley Genealogical Society
491 Beaver Creek Road
Spruce Pine, NC 28777

Yancey History Association
PO Box 1088
Burnsville, NC 28714

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [https://familysearch.org/ask/help#localResource online FHC director for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yancey County, North Carolina. Page 514.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 October 2015, at 18:34.
  • This page has been accessed 10,382 times.