Yardley, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Yardley, Worcestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Yardley, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Yardley, Worcestershire
St Edburgha Yardley Warwickshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Halfshire
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Solihull PLU
Registration District Solihull
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kidderminster
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

YARDLEY (St. Edburgh), a parish, in the union of Solihull, Upper division of the hundred of Halfshire, Northfield and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 4½ miles (E.) from Birmingham.[1]

Additional information:

Gazetteer / Directory Entries YARDLEY, a parish in the upper division of the hundred of HALFSHIRE, county of WORCESTER, 4½ miles (E.) from Birmingham, containing 2313 inhabitants. The living is a discharged vicarage, in the archdeaconry and diocese of Worcester, rated in the king’s books at£9.19.4½., and in the patronage of Edmund Wigley, Esq. The church, dedicated to St Edburgh, exhibits various specimens of the English style of architecture, with a fine tower and spire of the later date; it has lately received an addition of one hundred and twenty sittings,, of which one hundred are free, the incorporated Society for the enlargement of churches and chapels having granted £100 towards defraying the expense. Here are various bequests, producing a considerable income, for the education and relief of the poor. Great quantities of tiles are made in the neighbourhood, and conveyed to Birmingham, whence they are sent by the canals to various parts of the kingdom. [Lewis 1831]

Tracing Your Ancestors in Birmingham and part of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464209.



Poor Law Unions

Solihull Poor Law Union, Warwickshire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 19 October 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry

Tracing Your Ancestors in Birmingham part of The Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,174 times.