Yardley Wood, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Yardley Wood, Worcestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Yardly Wood, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Yardley Wood, Worcestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Halfshire
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Kings Norton; Solihull PLU
Registration District Kings Norton; Solihull
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kidderminster
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Yardley Wood Christ church is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Worcestershire, created in 1849 from Yardley, Worcestershire Ancient Parish and Kings Norton, Worcestershire Ecclesiastical Parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464209.



Poor Law Unions

Solihull Poor Law Union, Warwickshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Parishes: Yardley, A History of the County of Worcester volume 3, (1913). Date accessed and adapted: 19 October 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 17:03.
  • This page has been accessed 867 times.