Yates County, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to New York go to Yates County

Guide to Yates County New York genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, military, immigration and naturalization records. This page describes sources of genealogical data about Yates County, New York families, including links to smaller localities in the county. New York-related pages show useful statewide sources. United States pages explain the terminology and contents of genealogical records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/New York_Online_Genealogy_Records New York
Online Records


Yates County, New York
Map
Map of New York highlighting Yates County
Location in the state of New York
Map of the U.S. highlighting New York
Location of New York in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 5, 1823
County Seat Penn Yan
Courthouse
Ny-yates-ch.jpg
Address Yates County Office Building
417 Liberty St.
Penn Yan, NY 14527
Yates County Website

Contents

Yates County New York Historical Facts

Parent County

5 February 1823: Yates County was formed from 310 square miles of Ontario County, including the area that included Vine Valley, Middlesex, Penn Yan, and Dresden, New York.[1]

Neighboring Counties

Ontario · Schuyler · Seneca · Steuben[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New York County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New York County Boundary Maps" (1683-1915) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Nyyates.jpg
1 January 1826: 60 square miles of Steuben County was partioned and added to Yates, which included Starkey, Dundee, and Lakemont, New York.
15 April 1828: 10 square miles was partioned from Yates, and passed to Seneca and Tompkins Counties, mostly in the forest.
17 March 1860: Ontario County was authorized to gain land from Yates, but it was never put into effect.
18 April 1946: Yates gained 10 square miles from Schuyler and Seneca Counties, which produced the current borders of Yates County.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in New York Counties see: New York Counties with Burned Courthouses

Yates County New York Genealogy Resources

Bible Records

  • 1581–1917 New York, Family Bible Records at Ancestry– ($); Index. Database is a collection of genealogically important records taken from the Bibles of colony and state residents. Reveals the Bible's original owner, brief record of descendants,and a particular event such as birth or marriage as recorded in Bible.

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

An online transcription with over 40,000 graves in over 100 cemeteries can be found at the Yates County Gen Web Site with an online index.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories
Findagrave.com* Family History Library* Findagrave.com*
Interment.net* WorldCat* Tombstone Transcription Project*
Cemetery Site*   NYGenWeb Cemeteries*
New York Gravestones*   epodunk*
NYGenWeb Cemeteries*   Billion Graves*
Billion Graves*   Names in Stone*
Names in Stone*    
Linkpendium*    
Ancestry*    
   *See the New York Cemeteries page for details about each site.


  • Cleveland, Stafford C. Inscriptions From Three Abandonded [sic] Cemeteries in Yates County, New York: Friends Burying Ground, Stoddard Family Cemetery, Thomas Family Cemetery, with Index and Family History. [Middlesex, N.Y.? : s.n.], 1955. FHL Fiche 6071024
  • Dumas, Frances. Yates County Cemeteries and Cemetery Burials. Penn Yan, New York : F. Dumas & S. Conybeare, 1996. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Books 974.782 V3d v. 1-6
  • Spencer, Catherine Aspell. Those We Remember in Counties of Yates, Ontario, Schuyler, Steuben, New York State. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1986. FHL Film 1479822 Items 4-5
  • Spencer, Catharine Aspell. Those We Remember in Yates, Ontario, Schuyler, Steuben, New York State. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1986. FHL Film 1255691 Items 4-6
  • Stark, Helen. Gravestone Inscriptions From Some Yates County, N.Y., Cemeteries. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941. FHL Film 18037 Item 1, another film 1421100 Item 8

Census

For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see New York Census.

Federal

1810

  • Adelaide Bell Baggerly Chase, Index of U. S. census, 1810, Ontario County, New York including Steuben, Wayne & Yates counties (Washington: A. B. B. Chase, 1946.), FHL Film 813656 Item 5

U.S. Census Mortality Schedules for New York, 1850-1880:

  • Available online at Ancestry ($).
  • Deaths are included for the 12 months prior to the census, 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, and 1879-80 beginning 1 June and ending 31 May of the census year.[3]
  • Basic contents of the records include: Name, sex, age, color, marital status, place of birth, month of death, occupation, and cause of death. 1870 also has parents' birthplace. 1880 lists how long a resident of the county.
  • Also on FHL Films 1415128–42 which can be ordered through any Family History Center.
  • The 1890 Census is lost. For a substitute, see directories.
State
Source 1825 1835 1845 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Ancestry.com - - - Yes - Yes Yes - Yes Yes
Family History Library Films Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
FamilySearch Images - - - Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
New York State Library Films Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes - Yes Yes

New York State 1865 and 1875 Census Marriage, Mortality; and 1865 Soldier Mortality records:

  • Images available online at New York State Census, 1865 and New York State Census, 1875. Click on the link to go to the page, then click on the ‘Browse through images’ link and select your county, then select an ancestor's town and browse to the end of the population schedule until you find the Marriage, Mortality, and 1865 soldier mortality schedules.
  • Includes marriages and deaths for the 12 months prior to the census, ending 1 June of the census year.
  • Marriage entry content: Husband's name, wife's name, ages and previous marital status, month and day and place of marriage, and church or civil ceremony.
  • Death entry content: Name, age, sex, color, marital status, month and day of death, native state or country, occupation and cause of death.
  • 1865 deaths of officers and enlisted men entry content: Name, age, marital status, citizenship status, enlistment date, original regiment, original rank, regiment at death, rank at death, promotions, death date and place, manner of death, surviving associates, and burial place.
  • Also on microfilm. See the Family History Library line in the above State Census Chart. These can be ordered through any Family History Center.

Church Records

Jemima Wilkinson.jpg
Jemima Wilkinson established the Universal Society of Friends in Penn Yan, New York in Yates county. Her teachings were closely tied to the Quaker religion.

Church records are good substitutes for birth, marriage, and death information and are most often found on a local city/town or county level.  Published and manuscript church records can be found at public, university, and private libraries.

For a brief general history of denominations and a guide to finding various New York denomination's records, see New York Church Records Wiki page.

An impressive list of church records and church histories of Yates County is available at NYGenWeb.

  • Jackson, Linda J. Aspiring Christians: Histories of Yates County Churches. L.J. Jackson: 1998. FHL Book 974.782 K2j.

Cornell University's Study Center for Early Religious Life in Western New York has an online guide to Yates County church records in their library.

Additional Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yates County, New York Church Records  in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Ancestors may have also been involved in municipal, state, or federal court cases. See also New York Court Records and United States Court Records.

Crime and Criminals

Directories

  • American agriculturist farm directory of Yates, Schuyler, Tompkins and Seneca counties, New York, 1914: a rural directory and reference book including a road map of the four counties covered (New York: Orange Judd Co., 1914), FHL 812856 Item 4
  • Bootes, Fenton E., Mrs., Index to business directory, New historical atlas of Yates County, New York, Everts, Ensign & Everts (pub. 1876): includes name, date of settlement, nativity, (Microreproduction of original published: [S.l. : s.n.], 1955. 9 leaves), FHL Fiche 6081210

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

  • The Danes of Yates County: the history and traditional arts of an ethnic community in the Finger Lakes region of New York State FHL

Gazetteers

19 R163395 9 0Middlesex NY.jpg

Genealogy

  • Rootsweb message board for Yates County, New York has many information threads about families that resided in that county. There is a search engine that allows you to search by surname and topic.
  • History and directory of Yates County: containing a sketch of its original settlement FHL
  • History and directory of Yates County: containing a sketch of its original settlement by the Public Universal Friends, the Lessee Company and others, with an account of individual pioneers and their families; also of other leading citizens, including church, school and civil history and a narrative of the Universal Friend FHL
  • Sources of clues, Yates County, New York FHL

History

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Yates County, New York
  • Americana in Drumlin Square FHL
  • The Beddoe tract: 7,000 acres in central western New York state : it's history from 1792 to 2004 FHL
  • Changes & returns: chapters in our county's history FHL
  • A good country, a pleasant habitation, an outline of history of Yates County FHL
  • History and directory of Yates County: containing a sketch of its original settlement FHL
  • History of Yates County, N.Y.: with illustrations and biographical sketches of some of the prominent men and pioneers FHL
  • Keuka Lake memories: the champagne country, 1835-1935 FHL
  • The student's handbook of Yates County FHL

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New York Land and Property for more details, especially about the papers generated in New York State by large speculative land companies.

Original land records in Yates County, New York began in [?dateyear?]. These records are housed at the [?repository?] in [?town?].

Online

Microforms

Books

Additional land records can sometimes be found using these catalogs:

Materials available through the Family History Library:

  • Deed records, 1823-1910; index, 1823-1965 FHL
    • Grantor Index 1823-1965 (10 volumes)
    • Grantee Index 1823-1965 (10 volumes)
    • Deed records 1823-1905 (94 volumes)
  • Deeds transmitted from Steuben and Ontario counties, 1790-1855; index 1800-1823 FHL
    • General Index 1800-1823 (2 volumes)
    • Deeds, Steuben and Yates 1796-1854 (2 volumes)
    • Deeds, Ontario and Yates 1790-1855 (5 volumes)
  • Homesteads, 1851-1907 FHL
  • Lis pendends, 1832-1950 FHL
  • Miscellaneous records, 1823-1913 (3 volumes) FHL
  • Mortgages, 1823-1852; index, 1823-1883
    • Mortgagee Index 1823-1881 (2 volumes)
    • Mortgagor Index 1823-1833 (2 volumes)
    • Mortgages 1823-1852 (16 volumes)
  • Honor Roll of Century Land in Yates Co., State of New York, 1953 FHL
    This includes a list of original land owners and dates of purchase for land which has had continuous owner- ship for 100 years.
  • United States loan mortgage, 1837-1902 FHL

Additional resources

Additional resources for Yates County, New York land records may be found in the Yates County, New York – Land Records topic page of the Family History Library Catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Maps

  • Maps of New York (1683-1915)
  • Combination atlas map of Yates County, New York (pub. 1876) FHL
  • Combination atlas map of Yates County, New York (reprint 1992) FHL
  • Yates County, New York land ownership maps, 1855 and 1865 FHL
  • Highway map of Yates County, New York, 1990 FHL

Migration

Military

  • The military history of Yates County, N. Y.: comprising a record of the services rendered by citizens of this county in the army and navy, from the foundation of the government to the present time FHL
  • Soldiers discharge, 1863-1943 FHL

Civil War

Town registers. The New York town clerks kept a bound register of all soldiers from their town serving in the Civil War 1861-1865. Registers are arranged by county, and town. Some town registers are missing. The registers include an index at the start of each town.

Content. Many register entries include full name, residence, date and place of birth, parents names, marital status, date of enlistment and muster and rank, discharges, death, or promotion.

Access. The original registers are at the New York State Archives in Albany, New York. Microfilm copies are found at the Family History Library (FHL Film 1993401-37) and can be ordered for viewing at your local Family History Center. They are also indexed and available at Ancestry.com ($).

Available towns. Registers are available for:Barrington · Benton · Italy · Potter · Starkey · Torrey.

Regiments. Service men in Yates County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county.[4]

- 8th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company A
- 15th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company C
- 20th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company L
- 22nd Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company A
- 33rd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company I
- 55th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A B and G
- 76th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A B C D E F and G
- 87th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company A
- 126th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A B E and G
- 148th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies B F and I
- 179th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies C and F
- 194th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies D and E


  • Yates County's "boys in blue", 1861-1865: who they were and what they did FHL
  • Diary of Royal George Kinner, a Civil War soldier FHL
  • Jones, Paul.The Irish Brigade. (Gaithersburg, Maryland : Olde Soldier Books, [199-?]) FHL 973 M2ji

Naturalization and Citizenship

Family History Library Collection
  • Naturalization of aliens over 18 years, 1898-1899 FHL
  • Naturalization of aliens under 18 years, 1865-1898 FHL
  • Naturalization records, 1823-1958; index, ca. 1823-1956 FHL
    • Card Index 1823-1956
    • Loose papers 1820-1913 (not in chronological order before 1851)
    • Declarations of Intent 1855-1906 (old style)
    • Declarations of Intent 1906-1958 (Federal)
    • Petitions for Naturalizations 1906-1958 (Federal)

Newspapers

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the largest online collection of 400 New York 1795-2007 newspapers. The instructions for this quirky site are needed to get the most out of it.

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the following Yates County, New York newspaper images:

  • Penn Yan NY Democrat 1838-1948

Newspaper resources from the Family History Library collection:

  • Genealogical gleanings abstracted from the early newspapers of Penn Yan, Yates County, New York, 1823-1833 and 1841-1855 FHL
  • Yates County miscellany, newspaper clippings FHL

Obituaries

Periodicals

  • The Union record FHL
    Contains information also on the Ball family. published by Ball International Union and Keuka College
    • Index to Tree talks county packet, Yates County, New York FHL
  • Yates past: newsletter of the Yates County Genealogical Historical Society FHL
  • Index to Tree talks county packet, Yates County, New York FHL

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Probate Records

Probate records including original estates and wills for New York are held in the office of the Yates County, New York County Surrogate Court beginning in 1787, or when the county was formed. Prior to 1787, most are housed at the New York State Archives. See New York Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
Content:  Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types:  Wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distribution.

Probate Petitions

In 1830, state law required the Surrogate Court clerk to issue a probate petition for a deceased individual with property. This petition, unique to New York, usually lists the deceased's death date. It also lists the heirs, their relationship to the deceased, and their residence. [5] [6]

These petitions are often found in the estate files and can be obtained from the Yates County Surrogate Court.
Online Probate Abstracts and Indexes

A project is underway to index and transcribe the 30 books of Wills recorded in Yates County since 1823. See the Every-Name index to Yates County Will Books for those currently on line.

Currently there is an online index for the first 180 boxes of probate files which includes an alphabetical index to principals and heirs and packet lists. See the Surrogate Court Records website for the online index


Online Probate Records

Original county-by-county New York, Probate Records, 1629-1971 are available free online at FamilySearch. To access these records, click Historical Records below, then click "Browse through 1,630,900 images". Then select the county name, and then the probate records and time of interest.

  • Historical Records - Yates County: • Administration bonds,orders 1880-1905; Decrees, Minutes, Orders, 1830-1901; Dower records, 1827-1879; Final settlements, 1828-1870; Guardianship records, 1823-1950; Letters of administration, Letters of testamentary, 1823-1891; Real estate records, 1824-1906; Real estate records, 1824-1906; Surrogate record index, 1823-1951; Wills, 1823-1903.

Probate Records on Microfilm The probate records described above also may be among those on microfilm including:

  • 1823–1951 Probate records FHL Film 838928 (28 Films) These are the same probate records found online at FamilySearch and described above in Online Probate Records.
  • 1823–1913 Miscellaneous records(3 volumes) FHL Film 838908–838909
  • Partial Index to Will Books A–C. Bootes, Fenton E. Deans of Wantage, Morris Co., New Jersey and a partial index to will books, A-C, of Yates County, New York.Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1979. Manuscript on Film. FHL Film 1036357 Item 12

Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts

Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yates County, New York probate wills in online catalogs like:

Repositories

See also a List of New York Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Cornell University, Guide to Historical Resources in Yates County, New York Repositories. ([Ithaca, New York]: New York Historical Resources Center, Olin Library, Cornell University, 1984). At various libraries; FHL Book 974.782 A3g and film 1425056 Item 9. Includes index. Includes sources for family history and genealogy.

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Libraries

  • Penn Yan Public Library
    214 Main St.
    Penn Yan, New York 14527-1796
    Phone: 315-536-6114
    Hours: Monday - Friday 9 am - 7:30 pm
    Saturday 9 am - 1 pm

The Penn Yan library holds a comprehensive collection of local newspapers and more.

Museums

County Historian's Office

Yates County Historian's Office
417 Liberty St.-Suite 0032
Penn Yan, New York 14527
Phone: 315-536-5147
Email: history@yatescounty.org

Genealogical Resources:

  • Census from 1790 - 1925, indexed.
  • land records from 1788 to present, indexed
  • Cemetery records. A computer database of all known cemetery burials in the County.
  • Tax rolls as early as 1790, most from the 1860's and all from the 1890's to the present.
  • Military records
  • Newspapers
  • Court records from all county court including the Surrogate Court
  • Immigration and naturalization records
  • A large and growing collection of town and village records on microfilm, including minutes, vital records, road surveys, school records and more.
Courthouses

The Yates County Courthouse is the home for the County Clerk, Surrogate's Court and Public County Historian. For further information about the records which are available and where the records are held, see the Yates County Courthouses page.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FHC for Yates County, New York is the Fayette New York Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Societies

Some of the genealogical resources available through the Yates County Genealogical and Historical Society are:

County maps from 1790 - 1969
Marriage and death records, 1820's - 1990's taken from newspapers, genealogies and other records
Census indexes, 1790-1865
Penn Yan County directories, 1879-1990
Local history
Special collections including photogarphs
Cemetery records
County history
School records
and more...

Central New York Genealogical Society[8]
Box 104, Calvin Station
Syracuse, New York 13205
E-mail: CNYSG@yahoo.com

Member queries; surname research list; online resources; six meetings/year; publishes Tree Talks (At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 B2t) quarterly with annual index.
Counties served: Albany, Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Oreleans, Oswego, Otsego, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wyoming, and Yates.

Social Groups Online

Taxation

Town Records

Town records in New York may include early births, marriages, deaths, divorces, local histories, selected military records, and town meeting minutes. For further details, try the links to individual town Wiki pages found in Places. See also:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). NEHGS online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists.


Vital Records

Vital records of birth, marriage or death were first recorded at the local level in the village clerk, town clerk, or city clerk’s ledger book. If you know where a birth, marriage or death took place, a copy of the certificate or record may be obtained by writing to the town, village or city clerk. See also How to order New York Vital Records or order electronically online.

See the heading Places on this wiki page for links to local community wiki pages and their available records. See New York Vital Records for a discussion about beginning dates and availability of vital records in New York.

Use substitute records for birth, marriage, and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.

Birth

Early births were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording births in 1881. Births were not recorded on the county level.

Birth Substitutes

  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for birth information.
Marriage

Early marriages were sometimes recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) In 1880, town clerks were to record the marriage and a copy was sent to the New York State Department of Health (state level). Town clerks continue to record marriages. Marriages were recorded by the Yates County, New York clerk starting in 1908 and go until 1933.[9]

Marriage Substitutes

  • 1800–1855 New York Marriage Notices at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage notices published in newspapers around the state. Contains name of bride and groon, marriage date, marriage location, residence, and newspaper found in.
  • 1864–5, 1874-5 See Marriage Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for marriage information for 1864–5 and 1874-5.
Divorce

Pre–1787

All divorces were granted by the governor or legislature and were very rare.

1787–1847

All divorces were granted by the court of chancery. These records are found in the New York State Archives or for the New York City area at the New York County Clerk's office.These divorces were granted only on the grounds of adultery.

1847–present

All divorces are handled by the county Supreme Court where the divorce was granted. Divorce files in New York are sealed for 100 years. Contact the County Clerk for information about divorce records.

Divorce judgment papers often include date and place of the marriage and the names and birthdates of any children. Local newspapers may publish notices of divorce actions.

Deaths

Early deaths were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording deaths in 1881. Deaths were not recorded on the county level.

Death Substitutes

  • 1864–5, 1874-5 See Mortality Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for death information for 1864–5, and 1874-5.
  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men Who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for death information.

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Yates County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the New York, Yates– Vital Records topic page of the Family History Library Catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Voting Registers

Yates County New York Places

Ontario CountySeneca CountySchuyler CountySteuben CountyMiddlesexPotterBentonItalyJerusalemTorreyMiloBarringtonStarkeySeneca LakeNYYatesCoTwnshps.png


Yates County New York Genealogy Websites

Yates County New York Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 493. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook, 478.
  3. Arlene Eakle, and Johni Cerni, The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1984), 103. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27ts.
  4. Frederick Phisterer, New York in the War of the Rebellion, 3rd ed. (Albany, N.Y.: J. B. Lyon Company, 1912). Internet Archive digital copy; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 1486494-96; Fiche 6083559-64; Book 974.7 M2p.
  5. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 479. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  6. Henry B. Hoff, "Navigating New York Probate," American Ancestors 12 (Fall 2011): 57.
  7. About Abstracts of Wills, Admins. and Guardianships in NY State, 1787-1835 at New York Ancestors, accessed 8 December 2011, http://newyorkancestors.org/.
  8. Central New York Genealogical Society at http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nycnygs/index.htm (accessed 1 November 2011).
  9. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 488-493. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 00:15.
  • This page has been accessed 9,971 times.