Yealand Conyers, Lancashire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Yealand, Lancashire)

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Yealand Conyers, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Yealand Conyers, Lancashire
St Mary's Church, Yealand Conyers Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Lancaster
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1848
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tunstall
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office


Chapelry History

YEALAND-CONYERS, a township, in the parish of Warton, union of Lancaster, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, 2¼miles (W. S. W.) from Burton-in-Kendal.The Society of Friends have a place of worship, with a school attached; and there is a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Yealand chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Warton to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS =
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk

YEALAND-CONYERS ST JOHN Chapelry  (1858) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1858-1909 1740-1760, 1793-1835 (partial) 1745,1755, 1764-1804, 1809-1815
LOPC 1858-1922 1867-1920 None
LBMD None 1867-2001 None
WARTON ST OSWALD PARISH (1568) Indexes (ancient parish containing YEALAND Chapelry)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1568-1903 1570-1838 None
LOPC 1568-1924 1569-1647, 1653-1903 1568-1920
LBMD 1837-1919 1837-1988 1837-1919
FMP None 1571-1837 None
AC 1568-1812 1568-1812 1568-1812
FREG 1871-1903 1824-1845 1813-1900, 1914-1920

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Yealand and comprising the whole ancient parish of Warton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WARTON PARISH page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916.

Poor Law Unions

Lancaster Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 716-719.Date accessed: 24 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 02:09.
  • This page has been accessed 3,408 times.