Yetminster, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Yetminster, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Yetminster, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Yetminster, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Yetminster
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Sherborne
Registration District Sherborne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1677
Bishop's Transcripts: 1579
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shaftesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Yetminster and Grimston
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office


Parish History

YETMINSTER (St. Andrew), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Sherborne, hundred of Yetminster, Sherborne division of Dorset, 5¼ miles (S. W.) from Sherborne; containing, with the chapelries of Chetnole and Leigh..[1].


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Yetminster, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
1630-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1999 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1504-1978 findmypast[6] 1579-1847 Ancestry[7] 1640-1847 findmypast[8]
1579-1880 Ancestry[9] 1677-1837 FreeREG[10] 1744-1847 findmypast[11]
1760-1889 OnlineParishClerks 1677-1837 findmypast[12] 1813-1900 OnlineParishClerks
1677-1837 PRTSociety[13]
1760-1889 OnlineParishClerks
1770-1837 Joiner[14]

Yetminster, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[15]
Yetminster, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241341.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1848. Date accessed: 12 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Dorset Baptism Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  7. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Dorset,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  9. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  10. Dorset Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 21 May 2012.
  11. 'Dorset Burial Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  12. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  13. 'Dorset,' Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 31 July 2012.
  14. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 21 May 2012.
  15. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 20:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,198 times.