Yolo County, California GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Yolo County, California)

United States go to California go to Yolo County

Guide to Yolo County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records



Yolo County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Yolo County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 18, 1850
County Seat Woodland
Courthouse
Address Yolo County Courthouse
625 Court Street
PO Box 1130 zip code 95776
Woodland, CA 95695
Phone: 530.666.8130
Yolo County Website

Contents

County Information

Yolo County, California Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1879 1895 1879 1850 1850 1879

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death and land records
divorce, probate and court records from 1850[2]

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Yolo County, California

Parent County

18 February 1850: Yolo County was created as an original county. County seat: Woodland [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Brooks | Capay | Clarksburg | Davis | Dunnigan | El Macero | Esparto | Green | Guinda | West Sacramento | Winters | Woodland | Yolo |

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Yolo County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.


Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Yolo County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Cayolo.png

Migration

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yolo County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Yolo - Probate records.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Divorce

Death

Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Yolo County Historical Society
P.O. Box 1447
Woodland, CA 95776
Phone:530-661-2212
Yolo County Historical Society

Davis Genealogical Club
c/o The Davis Senior Center
646 – A Street
Davis, CA 95616-3602

Davis Historical Society
c/o Dennis Dingemans,
645 "C" Street
Davis, CA 95616

Friends of Yolo County Archives
226 Buckeye Street
Woodland, CA 95695-2600

Yolo County African American Heritage Association
PO Box 1749
Woodland, CA 95776-1749

West Sacramento Historical Society
P.O.Box 1202
324 Third Street
W. Sacramento, CA 95691
Phone: 916-374-1849
West Sacramento Historical Society


Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yolo County, California. Page 88At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2015, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 9,794 times.