York County, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Virginia go to York County

Guide to York County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Virginia
Online Records
York County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of York County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting York County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1643
County Seat Yorktown
Courthouse

Contents

York County, Virginia Courthouse

York County Courthouse, Yorktown, Va. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.

York County Courthouse
300 Ballard St.
Yorktown, VA 23690
Phone 757-890-3350

Formerly Charles River County. name changed to York 1642. 
Clerk Circuit court has marriage, probate, land and court records.[1]


The courthouse serves both York County and the independent city of Poquoson.

The Records room is open from 8:15 AM to 4:45 PM Monday through Friday and can be contacted by calling (757) 890-4103.

Beginning Dates for York County, Virginia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1772 1853 1810 1633 1633

York County, Virginia History

Aerial view of York, England. York County, Virginia is believed to have taken its name from the English city of York.

The county is believed to have been named after the English city of York.[2]

Parent County

1634--York County was created in 1634 as an original shire or county.
County seat: Yorktown [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

War.jpg
Most of the courthouse loose paper prior to the American Revolutionary War 1775-1783 are missing.[3]

Bound volumes of deeds, orders, and wills still exist.[3]

  • Lost federal censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

York County, Virginia Places/Localities

Vayork.jpg

Populated Places

Places recognized by the US Census Bureau:

Other places not recognized by the US Census Bureau:

  • Grafton
  • Lackey
  • Lightfoot
  • Seaford
  • Tabb
  • Yorktown Naval Weapons Stati

Neighboring Counties

York County, Virginia Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t [For York County, see pp. 64-65]
  • Dorman, John Frederick. "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: York County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 25, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1981):51-53. Available at American Ancestors ($).
  • Hopkins, Garland Evans. York County Source Book; Includes a Brief History of Colonial York County, Virginia; Petitions to the General Assembly from 1776 to 1858; and Guides to Source Materials Concerning the History and Genealogy of the County. Winchester, Va.: Hopkins, 1942. FHL 1036407 Item 25.

African American

  • Heinegg, Paul. "York County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1825," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • Heinegg, Paul. "York County Register of Free Negroes 1798-1831," Free African Americans.com. [This list can be found after the index in Guardians' Accounts, 1780-1823, Library of Virginia Microfilm Reel 65.]
  • Johnson, Martha C. Black Families of Elizabeth City Co., VA, 1800-1990: Research of Families of Callis, Davis, Simpson, Radcliff, Originating from Gloucester Co., Mathews Co., York and James Counties and Elizabeth Co., Hampton, Virginia. FHL Collection 1728886 Item 2.

Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

Additional Bible records include:

Cemeteries

For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see York County, Virginia Cemeteries.

The following is a list of cemeteries in York County:[4][5]

  • Carys Cemetery
  • Cheesecake Cemetery
  • French Cemetery
  • Grace Episcopal Church Cemetery
  • Hopkins Cemetery
  • Hopson Gravesite
  • Jackson Post Cemetery
  • Lee Cemetery
  • Moore House Cemetery
  • New Quarters Baptist Church Cemetery
  • New Bethel Baptist Church Cemetery
  • Northside Christian Church Cemetery
  • Oak Grove Cemetery
  • Original Grafton Baptist Church Cemetery
  • Poquoson Cemetery
  • Providence United Methodist Church Cemetery
  • Ringfield Cemetery
  • Rising Sun Baptist Church Cemetery
  • Shiloh Cemetery
  • Smith Cemetery
  • Tabernacle United Methodist Church Cemetery
  • York River Presbyterian Church Cemetery
  • Yorktown National Cemetery
  • Zion Methodist Church Cemetery
  • Zion Prospect Baptist Church Cemetery
  • Tyler, Lyon G. "Old Tombstones in York and James City Counties," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Oct. 1893):78-86. Digital version at JSTOR - free.

Census

For tips on accessing York County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 5,233
1800 3,231 −38.3%
1810 5,187 60.5%
1820 4,384 −15.5%
1830 5,354 22.1%
1840 4,720 −11.8%
1850 4,460 −5.5%
1860 4,949 11.0%
1870 7,198 45.4%
1880 7,349 2.1%
1890 7,596 3.4%
1900 7,482 −1.5%
1910 7,757 3.7%
1920 8,046 3.7%
1930 7,615 −5.4%
1940 8,857 16.3%
1950 11,750 32.7%
1960 21,583 83.7%
1970 33,203 53.8%
1980 35,463 6.8%
1990 42,422 19.6%
2000 56,297 32.7%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.
1890 Union Veterans' Census

Church History and Records

Baptist

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Grafton (1777)[6]
  2. New Bethel Baptist Church
  3. New Quarters Baptist Church
  4. Rising Sun Baptist Church
  5. Zion Prospect Baptist Church

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.

York County fell within the bounds of the Dover Association.

Church of England

Also known as Anglicans, later Protestant Episcopal


Gotoarrow.png See also Blisland Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Bruton Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Charles Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Charles River Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Chiskiack Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Hampton Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Marston Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Middle Plantation
Gotoarrow.png See also Middletowne Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also New Poquoson Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also York Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Yorkhampton Parish

  1. Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online

Churches still in operation:

  1. Grace Episcopal Church
    111 Church Street
    (for mailing, P.O. Box 123)
    Yorktown, VA 23690
Christian
Gracechurchyorktown.jpg
  1. Northside Christian Church
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  1. Poquoson Ward and Virginia Peninsula Branch (YSA)
    113 Sinclair Lane
    Yorktown, VA
Methodist
  1. Providence United Methodist Church
  2. Tabernacle United Methodist Church
  3. Zion Methodist Church
Presbyterian
  1. York River Presbyterian Church
Quaker

Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Skimino Monthly Meeting (1698-1827)[7]
  • Warwick Monthly Meeting (1696-1720) aka Denby aka York[7]

Court Records

County Court

  • Fleet, Beverley. York County, 1633-1646. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes York County Records; Deeds, Orders, Wills, Etc. No. 1 and No. 2; Record Book No. 2.]
  • Fleet, Beverley. York County, 1646-1648. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes court orders 1646-1648.]

Record Book

  • Fleet, Beverley. York County, 1633-1646. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes York County Records; Deeds, Orders, Wills, Etc. No. 1 and No. 2; Record Book No. 2.]
  • Fleet, Beverley. York County, 1648-1657. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes abstracts of Record Book No. 2 (1648), Record Book No. 1 (1652-1657), and Record Book No. 3 (1657).]

Genealogy

More than 650 genealogies have been published about York County families. To view a list, visit York County, Virginia Genealogy.

Immigration

Yorktowncustomhouse.jpg
Yorktown has been a port since colonial times. No official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries. The Custom House, built about 1720, is the oldest brick building standing in Yorktown.[8]

Headright grants identify many York County, Virginia immigrants who arrived before 1720.[9] The Virginia Immigration article provides tips about using this source.

Additional resources include:

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Correspondence with the American Colonies 1739-1782," The Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Spring 1998):108-128; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Fall 1998):189-205. [Overseas correspondence of residents of Yorktown with the following surname: Norton.] Available at FHL.
  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Intercepted Letters Relating to America, 1777-1811" The Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 2 (Fall 2000):184-200. [Overseas contacts of a resident of York Co., VA with the following surname: Cunninghame.]
  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Brewerton Parish, York River, York Town [Yorktown], and York County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • Ljungstedt, Milnor. "Items from Southern Records" [Showing Family and Trade Connections with Northern Colonies and the Home Countries], The American Genealogist, Vol. 15 (1938):95-104. Available at American Ancestors. [York Co., VA: Chesely, Clarke, Hall, Hethersall, Lane, Martin, Moosser [?], Perry, Phelps, Rogers, Weatherall, Williams.]

Land and Property

Deeds

  • Fleet, Beverley. York County, 1633-1646. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes York County Records; Deeds, Orders, Wills, Etc. No. 1 and No. 2; Record Book No. 2.]

Grants and Patents

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

  • Nugent, Nell Marion. Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of Virginia Land Patents and Grants 1623-1666. Vol. I (1934; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1991). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes York County. N.B. If Ancestry's search engine fails, try checking the printed index at the end of the book.]

Maps

Military

Colonial Militia
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some York County militia officers and/or soldiers; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For York County, see p. 102.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some York County militia officers; see place name index.]
French and Indian War
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some York County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some York County militia officers; see place name index.]
Revolutionary War

  Public Losses in York County from the Invasions of the Enemy in 1781  Virginia Pioneers

War of 1812

York County men served in the 68th and 115th Regiments.[10]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, York County, p. 108. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in York County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in York County, Virginia:

  • 1909 York County Confederate Pension List, available online, courtesy: VAGenWeb.
Civil War Battles

The following Civil War battles were fought in York County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Newspapers

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local York County, Virginia newspapers.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Occupations

Philip Alexander Bruce's book Economic History of Virginia in the Seventeenth Century (Vol. II, 1896, p. 334 footnote 1) includes a list of early English merchants in York County.

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Yorktown silversmiths.]

Private Papers

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Correspondence with the American Colonies 1739-1782," The Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Spring 1998):108-128; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Fall 1998):189-205. [Overseas correspondence of residents of Yorktown with the following surname: Norton.] Available at FHL.

Probate Records

A free index to York County, Virginia wills and administrations (1633-1811) is available at the Library of Virginia website.

Local Court

  • Fleet, Beverley. York County, 1633-1646. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes York County Records; Deeds, Orders, Wills, Etc. No. 1 and No. 2; Record Book No. 2.]
  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1987. Available at FHL. [Includes York County.]
  • York County Wills, Book No. 1, 1633-1657 (digital images) Virginia Pioneers
  • Index to York County Wills and Deeds, Book No. 2, 1645-1649Virginia Pioneers

London Courts

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Brewerton Parish, York River, York Town [Yorktown], and York County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

Taxation

How can Virginia tax lists help me? 

Published abstracts:

  • [1704] "Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR ($). [York County appears in 31:70-75.]
  • [1704, 1782-1784] Hansford, Thelma. Tax Lists York County 1782, 1783, 1784; Rent Roll York County 1704, Gloucester 1704, Warwick 1704; James City County Taxes 1768. Virginia?: T.I. Hansford?, 1950. Available at FHL.
  • [1763] "Tithables in York-Hampton Parish, York County, Va.," Tyler's Quarterly Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 7(1926):179-185. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL. [The source for this publication is a tithable list published in 1763. Could it, perhaps, record tithables from a year or two before that time?]
  • [1763] York County, Virginia Records: Tithables 1763 (York-Hampton Parish), Marriages 1772-1792. Signal Mountain, Tennessee: Mountain Press, 2007. Available at FHL. Free online surname index.
  • [1780] Account of Indian corn received for taxes, 1780, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Feb 1992. Vol. 30 Iss. 1.
  • [1782] Land tax records, 1782, Tidewater Virginia Families. Williamsburg VA: May 1999. Vol. 8 Iss. 1.
  • [1782-1784] See 1704.
  • [1782-1825] Heinegg, Paul. "York County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1825," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • [1784] Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Available at FHL. [1784 personal property tax list of York County.]
  • [1786, 1788] Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [Sources for this publication are the York County 1788 personal property tax list, the York Town 1788 personal property tax list, and partial York County 1786 personal property tax list (individuals who do not appear on 1788 list were abstracted). York County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • [1788-1789] York County Tax List 1788-1789. Purchase at Simmons Historical Bookstore.
  • [1790, 1800] Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of York County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1791, 1801] Indexed images of the 1791 and 1800 Land Tax Lists of York County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1793] Tithables, 1793, Upper precinct, Tidewater Virginia Families. Williamsburg VA: Aug 1994. Vol. 3 Iss. 2.
  • [1793] Tithables, ca.1793, Williamsburg, Tidewater Virginia Families. Williamsburg VA: Nov 1994. Vol. 3 Iss. 3.
  • [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. York County is included in Vol. 3.]

Vital Records

Indexes to York County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1856-1858 - York County Birth Index 1856-1858. Batch C868713 at FamilySearch - free.[14]
Marriage
  • 1772-1792 - Tyler, Lyon G. "Abstracts of Marriage License Bonds On File in York County Clerk's Office," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Jul. 1892):48-59. Digital version at JSTOR - free.
  • 1772-1795 - Crozier, William Armstrong. Early Virginia Marriages. Baltimore, Md.: Southern Book Co., 1953. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes York County marriages 1772-1795.
  • 1772-1876 - York County Marriage Index 1772-1876. Batch M868698 at FamilySearch - free.[14]
  • 1772-1792 - York County, Virginia Records: Tithables 1763 (York-Hampton Parish), Marriages 1772-1792. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Available at FHL.
Death
  • 1856-1858 - York County Death Index 1856-1858. Batch B868713 at FamilySearch - free.[14]
Vital Record Substitutes

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available for free online. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.

York County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Colonial National Historical Park (at Wikipedia), covering York and James City counties, Jamestowne, Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown Battlefield Park, Yorktown National Cemetery

Family History Centers

York County, Virginia Genealogy Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), York County, Virginia. Page 723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia Contributors, "York County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  3. 3.0 3.1 Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 7, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  4. USGS Map, www.trails.com
  5. Find-a-Grave
  6. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 118-119. Digital version at Google Books.
  7. 7.0 7.1 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  8. Robert A. Lancaster, Historic Virginia Homes and Churches (Philadelphia and London: J.B. Lippincott Company, 1915), 34. Digitized by Internet Archive; "The Custom House," York County Historical Committee, http://www.yorkcounty.gov/Default.aspx?tabid=7256, accessed 3 July 2012.
  9. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Cavaliers and Pioneers," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 24, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1980):221. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 24 (1980)
  10. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 76, 112. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  11. Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  12. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  13. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  14. 14.0 14.1 14.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 April 2014, at 23:52.
  • This page has been accessed 15,444 times.