Yorkshire Parish of York St John the Baptist HungateEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-YGotoarrow.png York and Ainsty Parishes

Contents

Parish History

YORK, a city and county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the E. riding of York, of which it is the capital, 193 miles (N. N. W.) from London; containing 28,842 inhabitants.[1]

York St St John the Baptist Hungate was an originally an  Ancient Parish in York township proper. The church had ancient origins extending back as early as the 12th century. It was demolished in the 16th century. Search all other York Minster parishes and chapelries in order to trace ancestry in this large city. To see a comprehensive list of York City parishes and chapels, see the "York Cathedral" parish page. Non-Church of England denominations identified in York St Helen, Stonegate include: Christians and Primitive Methodist. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in York, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Countess of Huntingdon Methodist, and General Baptist. [2]



See Medieval Parish Churches of York Wikipedia for context of this parish in the City
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from York Registration District held at York are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these


Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of **Parish** exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AO = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
YORK ST JOHN THE BAPTIST (1***) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None None None
JMI None None None
ANC (£) None None None
HATH None None None
AO None None None

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the Family History Library film numbers in their collection St. Helen, Stonegate - 1568

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464294.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-742. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
  2. Maps Familysearch


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 October 2013, at 01:18.
  • This page has been accessed 61 times.