Youlgreave, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngDerbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Youlgreave, Derbyshire
Youlgreave All Saints Derbyshire.jpg
Youlgreave All Saints Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake; Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell PLU
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish records: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bakewell
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Youlgreave, (All Saints) is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. with the chapelries of Birchover, Elton, Stanton, and Winster, and the township of Middleton with Smerril. Other places in the parish include: Youlgreave with Alport and Gratton. There are also places of worship for Calvinists, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Youlgreave parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
Youlgreave All Saints (1558) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1558-1860 None None None
FS PR's






PRTS

1558-1684


Derbyshire Record Office reference D3644 has deposited registers Bap 1558-1980 Mar 1558-1958 Burial 1558-1956 Banns 1754-1797 1871-1957

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1837 Mar 1662-1837 Burials 1662-1837

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241291.

Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 673-687. Accessed: 5 April, 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.
Contributor: Add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 21:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,166 times.