Ysbyty Cynfyn, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ysbyty Cynfyn, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngYsbyty Cynfyn

A guide to genealogy in Ysbyty Cynfyn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.


Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

History

Ysbyty Cynfyn is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Cwm Rheidol in Ceredigion, Wales. The parish was previously a chapelry of Llanbadarn Fawr. The village is in the community of Penterwyd.

CWMRHEIDOL (CWM-RHEIDIOL), a township, in the parish of Llanbadarn-Vawr, union of Aberystwith, Upper division of the hundred of Geneu'r-Glyn, county of Cardigan, South Wales. The river Rheidol, which gives name to the township, flows along a vale here, remarkable for its varied and picturesque scenery. There are extensive leadmines, which afford employment to the greater portion of the inhabitants.[1]

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 273-276. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 514 times.