Ysbyty Ystwyth, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ysbyty Ystwyth, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngYsbyty Ystwyth

A guide to genealogy in Ysbyty Ystwyth, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Ysbyty Ystwyth is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

YSPYTTY-YSTWITH, a parish in the upper division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 13 miles (S. E. by E.) from Aberystwith. The name is derived from an ancient hospitium formerly existing here, which is supposed to have belonged to the Knights Hospitallers, and its adjunct from its situation on the banks of the river Ystwith. The parish, which is also bounded on the east by the small rivers Marchnad and Meuric, comprises about four thousand acres, one-half of which is waste land. The church, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, and situated on a rock commanding a fine view of Maen Arthur wood, is an ancient edifice, consisting of a nave, divided by a screen to form a chancel; the length is about thirty feet, the breadth fifteen, and the roof is supported by octagonal pillars, in one of which is a cavity for the purpose of a font. There are places of worship for Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

For more information see Ysbyty Ystwyth at Genuki

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464303.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 438-446. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 January 2014, at 22:51.
  • This page has been accessed 368 times.