Ystad City, SwedenEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngMalmöhus County Gotoarrow.png Ystad City


Guide to Ystad City, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

Image for the city page here.

Contents

History

Ystad was founded in the beginning of 1100 and was originally a fishing town. It is located at the south cost of Sweden and is a part of Malmöhus county, in the province of Skåne. In 1997 Malmöhus county was merged with the Kristianstad county. Up until 1658 the town was part of the Danish kingdom. Neighbouring parishes consists of Bjäresjö, Hedeskoga, Öja and Stora Herrestad. The Sankta Maria church was built around 1200 and is the oldest remaining building in Ystad. The monestary called Gråbrödraklostret was founded in 1267 by the Franciscans and included the church of Sankt Petri.
 

In 1884 the Sankt Petri and the Sankta Maria parishes was combined and was named Ystad Stadsförsamling, in 1919 the name was changed to Ystad församling. In 1812 Ystad became a garrison town, records for the garrison parish Ystad Garnisonsförsamling stretches mainly from 1854 to 1882.

Tools

  • Maps
  • Word List for city research

City Administrations


Parishes




News
  • (Latest news for research in this city)
Topics
  • Archives
  • Demographic Growth
  • Economy
  • Geography
  • Historical Timeline
  • Language
  • Military
FamilySearch Indexing
FamilySearch Forums




 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 496 times.