Yuma County, Colorado GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Yuma County, Colorado ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Yuma County, Colorado|
Location in the state of Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
|Founded||March 15, 1889|
|Address|| Yuma County Courthouse|
310 Ash St
Po box 467
Wray, CO 80758-0426
Yuma County Website
County Clerk has marriage records from 1889
and land records from 1897
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Chase County, Nebraska
- Cheyenne County, Kansas
- Dundy County, Nebraska
- Kit Carson
- Sherman County, Kansas
For tips on accessing Yuma County, Colorado Genealogy census records online, see: Colorado Census.
Local histories are available for Yuma County, Colorado Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yuma County, Colorado Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.
You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Yuma County, Colorado Genealogy in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- Wray Public Library
621 Blake St.
Wray, CO 80758
Phone: (970) 332-4744
- Yuma Public Library
114 West 3rd Ave
Yuma, CO 80759
Phone: (970) 848-2368
Yuma Area Genealogical Society
PO Box 454
Yuma, CO 80759
Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.
Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. 
Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. 
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yuma County, Colorado. Page 101 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 04:52.
- This page has been accessed 4,697 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More