ZürichEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Zürich parish

Guide to Zürich parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

In 1893, the city of Zürich annexed the civil parishes of Aussersihl, Enge, Fluntern, Hirslanden, Hottingen, Leimbach, Oberstrass, Riesbach, Unterstrass, Wiedikon, Wipkingen, and Wollishofen.

In 1934, the city of Zürich annexed the civil parishes of Affoltern bei Zürich, Albisrieden, Altstetten, Höngg, Oerlikon, Schwamendingen, Seebach, and Witikon.

Parishes within Zürich

Post-1875 parishes within Zürich

Place Names

Locations within Zürich

Surrounding Parishes

Aussersihl (Sankt Peter)
Enge (Sankt Peter)
Fluntern (Predigern)
Hottingen (Neumünster)
Oberstrass (Predigern)
Riesbach (Neumünster)
Unterstrass (Predigern)
Wiedikon (Sankt Peter)

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Zürich families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Zürich prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 February 2015, at 15:22.
  • This page has been accessed 577 times.