Abuja FCT, NigeriaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Africa Gotoarrow.png Nigeria Gotoarrow.png Abuja, Federal Capital Territory

Guide to Abuja FCT, Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


Contents

Information

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Abuja

Abuja is the capital city of Nigeria. It is located in the center of Nigeria in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). Abuja is a planned city, which was built mainly in the 1980s and officially became Nigeria's capital on 12 December 1991, replacing the role of the previous capital Lagos.

History

In light of the ethnic and religious divisions of Nigeria, plans had been devised since Nigeria's independence to have its capital in a place deemed neutral to all parties. The location was eventually designated in the centre of the country in the early 1970s as it signified neutrality and national unity. Another impetus for Abuja came because of Lagos' population boom that made that city overcrowded and conditions squalid. The logic used was similar to the way Brazil planned its capital, Brasília. Construction broke ground and was dedicated in the late 1970s but, due to economic and political instability, the initial stages of the city were not complete until the late 1980s.

Church History and Records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Genealogy

Cemeteries

Websites

References



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 18:40.
  • This page has been accessed 1,238 times.