BallymakennyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
The following information is a starting point for records about the civil parish of Ballymakenny. The information is based on locations and records before the Irish Civil War in 1922.
• Brief statement about historical background
• Add relevant Web site link
• Names of townlands
• Names of the surrounding parishes
• Name/description of district, poor law union, etc.
Maps and gazetteers
• Add web site link to maps/gazetteers
• Add printed sources
Seanchas Ardmhacha 2 (1) (1983/84): 107-27.
• General statement with link to [1901-1911] Ireland Census Records article
• Statement about using substitutes, such as tax and land, in place of missing national censuses
• Notes about specific censuses for the parish, such as pre-1901 fragments
• Add subheading for census substitutes with related material
Note that some of the Catholic parish registers of this county have been indexed by Meath Heritage Centre and by the Armagh Ancestry. A search of the index will be conducted by these centers for a fee. Those indexed by Armagh Ancestry are indicated as "Indexed by AA." Microfilm copies of all registers are also available in the National Library of Irleand (NKI), and through the LDS library system.
Parish: part Monasterboice: part Termonfeckin: Diocese: Armagh. Earliest records Monasterboice: birth 1814; marriage 1814; death 1814
Missing Dates: birth 1831-33;death ends 1822
Earliest records Termonfeckin: birth 4.1823; marriage 1799; death 1799
Missing Dates: death ends 10.1833
Status: Records are held at the local church; National Library of Ireland (microfilm); Indexed by Armargh Ancestry (to 1900)
Church of Ireland
Many of the Church of Ireland records were lost in the Public Records Office fire of 1922. These are indicated as 'Lost". However as Church of Ireland records were effectively state records, the records of marriage (from 1845) are also in the General Registrar's Office. Many are still in local custody while others are in one of a variety of other archives, Representative Church Body Library or National Archives of Ireland.
General statement with link to Ireland Civil Registration article
General statement about Registry of Deeds with link to Ireland Land and Property article
General statement and link to the Ireland Probate Records article
• Records available in the FHL
• General statement with link to Ireland Schools article
• Griffiths – standard statement linking to Ireland Land and Property article or Taxation?
• Tithe Applotment – standard statement linking to Ireland Land and Property article or Taxation?
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 16:28.
- This page has been accessed 845 times.