Balsfjord, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Norway > Troms County > Balsfjord

Contents

Church Records

Balsfjord clerical district was established in 1856 with the parishes Balsfjord and Malangen which were separated from Tromsø parish and clerical district in 1856. For earlier records see Tromsø clerical district.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records

Balsfjord Clerical district is included in Tromsø Clerical district until 1852.

  • 1801 see Tromsø clerical district.
  • 1845 folketelling for Tromsøysund, Balsfjord og Malangen i Tromsø prestegjeld (Troms). The 1845 census for Balsfjord in Tromsø clerical districtincludes the parishes of Tromsø, Balsfjord, Malangen and Tromsøysundand is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records

Land Records

Probate Records

1690-1866 Tromsø judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Book

Balsfjorden og Malangens historie fram til 1830-åra : fra veidesamfunn til jordbruksbygd by Anders Ole Hauglid. A history of Balsfjord and Malangen in Troms county, Norway from the earliest times to the 1830's. Includes some extracts from various tax lists and the 1769 and 1801 census records.

Farm Book on the Internet

Balsfjord Bygdebok by N. S. Magelssen and Peter A. Larsen has been digitalized by Per Inge Nilsen. The names of the farms are linked to the text and are found on the left side of the page. Also you may use a Google search box to search in this farm book.

Farm Names

43 Andorli, 30 Bakken, 26 Bakkeringen, 26 Bomstad, 12 Elvebakken, 43 Elvekroknes, 51 Finkjellbakken, 22 Forskognes, 49 Furumoen, 58 Gammelgaard, 41 Gotsiland, 53 Grønaasen nedre, 15 Haakstad, 61 Hamran, 43 Hansgaard, 44 Hansvold, 20 Havnnes, 6 Hestnes nordre, 68 Hestnes søndre, 68 Hestnesbugten, 71 Holmen, 48 Holmenes, 43 Høiset, 35 Hølen, 23 Jernberget, 9 Kantornes, 28 Kilen, 37 Kjoshaugen, 37 Kjosvandet, 43 Kjæmpedal, 43 Klubbenes, 3 Kolnes, 43 Kongsberg, 19 Kvitbergbakken, 69 Kvitnes, 2 Labugten, 16 Lakselvsletten, 10 Laksvand indre, 57 Langnesøren, 70 Langstranden, 43 Langvasli, 33 Lodbugten, 41 Maasbergvik, 64 Malangseidet, 34 Markenes, 62 Middagsbugten indre, 67 Middagsbugten ytre, 65 Middagsnes, 17 Mobakken, 21 Musnes, 43 Myre, 44 Myrhaug, 13 Mælen, 10 Naustnes, 43 Nerli, 29 Nordkjosbotn, 26 Nordkjoselven, 51 Olsborg, 43 Olsrud, 45 Ophus, 52 Petersborg, 65 Resanes, 26 Reva, 66 Rosmaalsberget, 43 Rotli, 31 Russenes, 39 Sagelven, 34 Sandbugten, 60 Sandøren, 18 Seljelvnes indre, 14 Seljelvnes ytre, 3 Selnes, 60 Skjevelnes, 55 Skjæret, 63 Skrean, 32 Sletnes, 72 Sletten, 26 Smørpund, 4 Storbugten, 42 Storbugten nedre, 1 Stornes, 43 Storskogens Almenning, 47 Storsteinnes, 38 Strupen, 65 Supelven, 8 Svartnes indre, 7 Svartnes ytre, 7 Svartneskjosen, 43 Svensborg, 36 Sørkjosen, 43 Takvasbugten, 56 Tennes indre, 2 Tilleberg, 13 Tomasjorden indre, 11 Tomasjorden ytre, 49 Troldaasen, 5 Tømmernes, 46 Veiskifte, 50 Vesterbotn, 49 Vesterelven, 25 Vollabakken, 24 Vollan, 9 Ørnes, 43 Østerli, 40 Østgaard, 27 Øvergaard, 43 Øverli

Balsfjords Bygdebok: Andorlid, Bakken, Bomstad, Elvebakken, Furskognes, Furumoen, Gammelgaard, Grønaas, Haagenstad, Hamran, Hansvold, Havnnes (Hamnes), Hestnes, Holmen, Holmenes, Høisæt, Hølen, Jernberget, Kila, Kjoshaugen, Kjæmpedal, Kvitebergbakken, Kvitnes, Labugt, Langnesøren, Laxelvsletten, Laxvand, Lodbugt, Maasbergvik, Malangseidet, Markenes, Middagsbugt, Middagsnes, Mobakken, Musnes, Myrvang, Nordkjosbotten, Nordkjoselv, Olsborg, Olsrud, Ophus, Petersborg, Rosmaalberget, Rotlid, Russenes, Sagelv, Sagelvvand, Sandøren, Seljelv, Selnes, Skjæret, Skrean, Sletnes, Sletta, Sletten, Storbugt, Stornes, Storstennes, Strupen, Svartnes, Svendborg, Sørkjos, Tennes, Thomasjord, Tømmernes, Veiskiftet, Vesterbotn, Vollabakken, Vollan, Vosserummet, Østerlid, Østgaard, Øvergaard,

Historical Society

Balsfjord Historielag

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

-Magelssen, N. S.; Larssen, Peter A.: Optegnelser fra Ældre og Nyeste Tid. Tromsø, Tromsø Stiftstidenes's Bok-og Akcidenstrykkeri 1925


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 January 2014, at 21:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,412 times.