BhutanEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Asia go to Bhutan


Guide to Bhutan, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Welcome to the BHUTAN page


Bhutan Monastic Fortress.jpg


Flag of Bhutan
Emblem of Bhutan
Location of the Bhutan in Asia


---LOCATION---

Bhutan is a landlocked country in South Asia at the eastern end of the Himalayas. It is bordered to the north by China and to the south, east and west by India. To the west, it is separated from Nepal by the Indian state of Sikkim, while farther south it is separated from Bangladesh by the Indian states of Assam and West Bengal. reaching

It's elevation ranges from semi-tropical lowland planes to the foothills of the Himalayas, with altitudes reaching to about 22,500 feet.

Business Week rated Bhutan the happiest country in Asia and the eighth-happiest in the world.

---HISTORY---

Stone tools, weapons, elephants, and remnants of large stone structures provide evidence that Bhutan was inhabited as early as 2000 BC, although there are no existing records from that time.

IN the middle ages, Bhutan existed as a patchwork of minor warring tribes until the early 17th century. At that time the lama (who was the religious leader) and military leader Ngawang Namgyal, the first Zhabdrung Rinpoche, who was fleeing religious persecution in Tibet, unified the area and cultivated a distinct Bhutanese identity. In the early 20th century, Bhutan came into contact with the British Empire and retained strong bilateral relations with India upon its independence.

In 2008, Bhutan made the transition from being an absolute monarchy to a constitutional monarchy, and held its first general election.[

---RELIGION---

Vajrayana Buddhism is the major religion, and was first introduced to Bhutan in the 7th century AD. by the Tibetan king Songtsän Gampo. (reigned 627–649), a convert to Buddhism, who actually had extended the Tibetan Empire into Sikkim and Bhutan. He ordered the construction of two Buddhist temples, at Bumthang in central Bhutan and at Kyichu (near Paro) in the Paro Valley. Buddhism was propagated in earnest in 746] under King Sindhu Rāja Sendha Gyab; Chakhar Gyalpo), an exiled Indian king who had established a government in Bumthang at Chakhar Gutho Palace.

---JURISDICTIONS---

20 districts:

  • Bumthang
  • Chhukha
  • Chirang
  • Daga
  • Gasa
  • Geylegphug
  • Ha
  • Lhuntshi
  • Mongar
  • Paro
  • Pemagatsel
  • Punakha
  • Samchi
  • Samdrup Jongkhar
  • Shemgang
  • Tashigang
  • Tashi Yangtse
  • Thimphu
  • Tongsa
  • Wangdi Phodrang

---RECORDS---

At present there is no source for Birth, Marriage, and Death records in Bhutan. The following link provides some insight into Bhutan genealogy:

Bhutan Genealogy

---OTHER WEBSITES---

Kindred trails for Bhutan

Ancestry.com, Bhutan


Research Tools

(Your text or images here)

  • (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
  • (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

(All text below this is included in a column on the left side of the screen.)

News and Events
  • Hot off the Press!
  • Current Events

more...

Topics
  • (Your Bullets here)
Useful Websites
  • Websites



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 March 2015, at 02:13.
  • This page has been accessed 3,821 times.