Blackford County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Blackford County

Guide to Blackford County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Blackford County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 15, 1838
County Seat Hartford City
Courthouse
Address Blackford County Indiana
110 W Washington Street
Hartford City, IN 47348
Phone 765.348.1620
Blackford County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
 
Marriage
 
Death
 
Land
 
Probate
1882*
 
1839*
 
1882*
 
1836
 
1839
*For earlier dates, 

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries 

  • Parent Counties: Formed 15 February 1838 from Jay County [1]
  • County Seat: Hartford City [2]


Neighboring Counties

Grant  • Wells  • Jay  • Delaware

Wells CountyJay CountyHuntington CountyMadison CountyDelaware CountyRandolph CountyWabash CountyGrant CountyAdams CountyBlackford CountyINBlackford.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Independent Order of Odd Fellows (sometimes abbreviated 'IOOF') Cemetery. Hartford City - *BillionGraves *Find A Grave *Indiana State Library Reference: (I.O.O.F. Cemetery, Hartford City, Indiana (1960-1981). 46 pp.  (See also 977.201 B628bc for records prior to 1920 and "microfilm" for records to 1960).  Genealogy Division, q 977.202 H328io)
Blackford County, Indiana Cemeteries - INGenWeb
Blackford County, Indiana - see Cemeteries - Linkpendium

Census Records

For tips on accessing Blackford County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

Presbyterian Church

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Blackford County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Blackford County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

  • Biographical and Historical Record of Jay and Blackford Counties, Indiana: Containing Portraits of all the Presidents of the United States from Washington to Cleveland, with'A'ccompanying Biographies of each ; A Condensed History of the State of Indiana ; Portraits and Biographies of some of the Prominent Men of the State ; engravings of prominent citizens in Jay and Blackford Counties, with personal histories of many of the leading families, and a concise history of Jay and Blackford Counties and their cities and villages. (1978. Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co.)   FHL Collection  other libraries   FamilySearch Books Online
  • Shinn, Benjamin G. Blackford and Grant Counties, Indiana.  Chicago:  Lewis Publishing Co., 1914, 2 Vols.  Vol. 1 - Vol. 2 

Local histories are available for Blackford County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Blackford County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

  • Maps and Gazetteers, Blackford County, Indiana - Linkpendium
  • 1876 Map (David Rumsey Map Collection)

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Blackford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Blackford County.

BOOKS

  • THE CIVIL WAR Part 3, Chapter 7 in Biographical and Historical Record of Jay and Blackford Counties, Indiana: containing portraits of all the presidents of the United States from Washington to Cleveland, with accompanying biographies of each; a condensed history of the state of Indiana; portraits and biographies of some of the prominent men of the state; engravings of prominent citizens in Jay and Blackford Counties, with personal histories of many of the leading families, and a concise history of Jay and Blackford Counties and their cities and villages. (Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co., 1978), (page 738-743; some Regiment and Companies)  FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Collection  other libraries    [1]
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Blackford County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records


Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Blackford County Indiana
110 W Washington Street
Hartford City, IN 47348
Phone 765.348.1620

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from1839.
City and County Health Officers have birth and death records.
County Recorder has land records.
County Coroner has burial records. [4]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Blackford County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Blackford County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Blackford County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Blackford County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Blackford County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:



Web Sites

Places

Location

Area:  165 Sq. Miles

Townships

Extinct Towns

  • Wikipedia Link
  • Bowser Station - Dorsey Station - Frog Alley - Greenland - Mollie - Pleasantdale - Renner - Silas - Slocum - Winterhurst


References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Blackford County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blackford_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Igiindiana.pdf.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Blackford County, Indiana 211 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 April 2014, at 19:45.
  • This page has been accessed 11,399 times.