Bokn (Bukken), NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bokn, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records
Church records for Tysvær clerical district which was established in 1848 containing the parishes of Tysvær and Bokn (Bukken). Tysvær parish was separated form Skjold clerical district and Bokn from Skudenes clerical district in 1848. Earlier records for Bokn were burned in 1841. However, there are records for Bokn as part of the Skudenes clerical district as early as 1770. These are on microfilm at the Family History Library.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. 1663-1666 Census for Stavanger district at Digitalarkivet.
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district. Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt at Digitalarkivet.
The 1801 census (b. 39) for Skudenes clerical district includes Skudenes, Falnes, Ferkingstad, Bokn, and Åkra parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. 1801-telling for Schudenæs at Digitalarkivet.
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. 1865-telling for Tysvær at Digitalarkivet.
- 1875 Census - Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 31te desember 1875 for Tysvær and Bokn.
This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. 1875-teljinga for Bokn sokn i Tysvær prestegjeld at Digitalarkivet.
This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. 1900-telling for Bokns at Digitalarkivet.
For 1666-1795 the probates are found in Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district.
For 1793-1901 they are found in Karmsund judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1692-1812 are found in Karmsund deanery.
Bokn: gard og ætt by Birger Lindanger
Lindanger, Birger, "History of various farms in Bokn community, Rogaland co., Norway with vital information on farm residents", Bokn: Bokn kommune, c2001-2002. 948.31/B2 D2L 2 vols. FHL INTL Book
5 Aksdal 11 Alvestad 16 Are 27 Aukland 10 Bokneberg 10 Borgenvik 26 Dagsland 9 Føresviken 22 Grønestad nordre 24 Gunnarstad 12 Haaland 17 Hogneland 19 Jøsang 19 Kjeøen 2 Kro 10 Langhammer 18 Loten 15 Løpland 8 Nautøen 4 Nedrebø 1 Ogn 9 Sæbø 20 Søndeland 25 Torland 23 Trosnevaag 4 Træet 14 Trælhaug 6 Vaage nordre 13 Vaagshaug 13 Vatneland 3 Ødegaarden 3 Øvrebø
Bokn: Gard og ætt: vol I
Ogn: Ognahabn, Kro: Kallevik, Gullhaug, Krostua, Hyttevik, Megjarøy, Larsahuset, Ognaland, Steinarstykkje, Nauå, Øvrabø: Hannajorå, Nydal, Haugen, Bakken, Gongstø, Rosenberg, Opdal, Heimly, Klippen, Notberget, Øvrabøneset, Egrå, Haugaland, Hauasjøen, Lammaneset, Nerabø: Bakkane, Treet, Heimtun, Vestbø, Lendevik, Tåganes, Tvimelen, Aksdal: Strandavika, Nora Våga: Stysshåla, Hagen, Søra Våga: Groomstykke, Strandavik, Rabben, Heimly, Bakkane, Fjelde, Synnøveholmen, Longatonga, Perstykkje, Holmen, Sjurastykke, Nautøy: Sæbø: Sjøhusholmen, Solhaug, Leirgrov, Sjøhus, Tusenårsplassen, Kongshamn, Føresvik, Boknaberg: Adelsgarden, Borgenvik, Klokkargarden, Longhammar, Kongshamn, Alvestad: Beitesmyrå, Nikolaihuset, Nygård, Elleflådthuset, Nikolaijorda, Plattingen, Alvestadkroken, Beide, Sten-Ola-huset, Tveitane
Bokn: Gard og ætt: vol II
Håland: Vatnaland: Vågshaug, Krågevågen, Osebåsen, Laberget, Søristova, Treet, Trælhaug: Laupland: Leirgrov, Torgjelsstykket, Mastravik, Tuedalen, Are: Steinsholmen, Hognaland: Tveitane, Fredheim, Lyngtun, Hognalandsneset, Sørenstykket, Vigen, Loden: Lodahagen, Lodahaien, Fjelltun, Toptene, Jøsen: Kjøynå, Sunnalandsstraumen, Kvednaneset, Holmane, Sauøy, Sjøtun, Nydal, Trebakken, Soltun, Heimly, Røysa, Sjøhusgrunn, Dalhamn, Fjedle, Jøseneset, Straumen, Sunnaland: Heimland, Strømstad, Bakken, Kalvatre, Prestavigjå, Sunnalandstre, Starumen, Søra Grønnestad: Halvfjordingen, Nilsastykkje, Bulegjå, Baståsen, Mariaplasset, Nora Grønnestad: Norsbø, Tjødnavik, Ådnanes, Sandal, Baståsen, Tre, Nordbø, Hagamyrå, Trosnavåg: Fjedle, Stølen, Nora Breivik, Neset, Sandal, Søra Tre, Urå, Gunnarstad: Stølen, Steinsvoll Breivik, Kleivane, Borgenvik, Torland: Dagsland: Revahaug, Isaksplassen, Sørbø, Gulhaug, Økland: Kleivå, Treet, Pålavika
Linanager, Birger: Bokn gard og ætt Band I. Utgitt av Bokn kommune 2001
Lindanger, birger: Bokn Gard og ætt, vol II. Utgitt av Bokn kommune 2002
- This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 17:37.
- This page has been accessed 2,307 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News