Borgund, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngMøre og Romsdal County Gotoarrow.pngBorgund

Guide to Borgund, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


Contents

Church Records

Contains priest and sexton records for Borgund clerical district which includes the following parishes: Borgund with Havnsund chapel and Giske. It also included Haram parish to 1702 when it became part of Haram clerical district; Skodje and Vatne until 1858 when they became Skodje clerical distict; and Ålesund until 1858 when it became its own district.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1698-1927.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Borgund: 1788, 1803, 1826-1879, 1916-1924

Borgund / Borgund: 1880-1947

Borgund / Borgund, Giske: 1801-1840, 1844-1858

Borgund / Giske: 1899-1941

Borgund / Skodje: 1698-1817, 1838-1856

Borgund / Skodje, Vatne: 18161854

Borgund / Vatne: 169-1817

Ålesund: 1855-1938

Census Records

Fogd og sorenskrivers manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Borgund clerical district includes Borgund, Skodje, Hjørundfjord, Vatne and Grytten and is available on microfilm at the Family Historyc Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Sogneprestens manntall 1664-1666. The parish priest's 1664-1666 census for Borgund clerical district includes Skodje, Vatne, Haram, Vigra, and Borgund and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Manntall 1701 The 1701 census for Borgundclerical district includes Brogund, Vatne, and Gryttenand is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet(Digital Archives).

Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Borgund clerical district includes Borgund, Skodje, Giske, Ålesund, and Vatne and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital archives).

Folketellingen 1845 og 1855 for Borgund prestegjeld (Møre og Romsdal). The 1845 and 1855 censuses of Borgund clerical district include these parishes: Borgund, Giske, Skodje and Vatne. They list the farm name persons name and statistics. Available on microfilm at the Family History Library

Folketellingen for Norge den 31te desember 1865. The 1865 census for Borgund clerical district includes Borgund and Giske and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives); as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.

Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te Desember 1875. The 1875 census for Borgund clerical district include Giske and Borgund and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Folketellingen for Norge den 3dje desember 1900. The 1900 census forBorgund clerical district includeGiske and Borgund and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.

1910. Folketellingen for Norge den 1ste desember 1910. The 1910 census for Borgund is available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Øvrelid, Ragnar,Borgund og Giske, Borgund : Utgjevar: Borgund og Giske Bygdeboknemnd, 1957-1973. A history of Borgund and Giske in Borgund clerical district in Møre og Romsdal county and some genealogy. FHL 948.35 B2 H2b Farm name indexes to volumes 2 - 4 are found in the following links. File:948.35-B2 H2b V2 - BORGUND-Giske.pdf, File:948.35-B2 H2b V3 - Borgund og Giske III.pdf, File:948.35-B2 H2b V4 - Borgund og Giske IV.pdf

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh farm name index in about 1900 were as follows:

167 Aarset lille, 160 Aarset store, 50 Aase, 119 Aasen, 2 Akslegjerdet, 2 Akslen, 126 Alnes, 33 Alvik, 127 Arnepladsen, 4 Austrem, 71 Baatnes, 30 Bakken, 127 Bakken, 183 Bakken, 185 Bakken, 158 Bjørge, 159 Bjørgeholm, 65 Bjørkevaag, 180 Bjørnøen, 17 Blindem, 19 Blindemsnes, 76 Blomvik, 183 Blomvik, 43 Borgund, 91 Brathaugen, 20 Breivik, 36 Breivik, 127 Britannuspladsen, 179 Buholm, 109 Bulegene, 146 Bunes, 85 Davidspladsen, 21 Digreneset, 99 Djupdalen, 95 Djuphavn, 87 Djupvik, 123 Drevik, 61 Eidsnes, 9 Eikenos, 11 Eikenosvaag, 69 Eikrem, 6 Emlem, 7 Emlemsvaag, 172 Engset, 127 Erkna, 133 Fagervik, 41 Feten, 150 Finvik, 79 Fiskergaarden, 97 Flatholmen, 115 Flesje, 14 Flisholm, 13 Flisnes, 11 Furholm, 127 Furkenholm, 51 Furmyr, 66 Furnes, 99 Fylingen, 39 Gaaseid, 40 Gaaseidnes, 110 Gaasholm, 176 Gamlem, 176 Gamlemshagen, 177 Gamlemshaugen, 109 Gamlemyren, 127 Giske, 129 Giske-Ødegaarden, 130 Giskegjerdet, 87 Gjeithammeren, 17 Gjerdet, 65 Gjerdet, 97 Gjerdet, 118 Gjerdet, 138 Gjerdet, 189 Gjerdet, 168 Gjerset, 125 Gjuv, 181 Gjøsundholmen, 189 Gjøsundsæteren, 124 Godøen, 131 Grimmergaard, 149 Grimstad, 55 Gruen, 150 Grytebost, 171 Gryten, 91 Grønmyr, 46 Grønvik, 185 Gudmundsgjerdet, 120 Haavarpladsen, 157 Hagen, 175 Hageteigen, 56 Hanken, 105 Hatholm, 6 Hatlebakken, 10 Hatlehol, 31 Hatlen, 48 Hatlen indre, 49 Hatlevik, 83 Haugen, 147 Haugen, 97 Havnen, 174 Havnsund, 87 Hegrehaugen, 118 Heissen, 23 Hjellen, 70 Hjellen, 124 Hogsteinsneset, 32 Holen, 92 Holen, 170 Holmeset, 93 Holsfeten, 147 Hov, 148 Hovseidet, 53 Humlekavlen, 52 Humlen, 187 Hustruhavn, 80 Ingebrigtsgaarden, 127 Ingerpladsen, 184 Jangaarden, 183 Jangaardsgjerdet, 139 Jonsgaarden, 101 Jyljebøen, 127 Kabrikhaugen, 116 Kalvestad, 141 Kalvøen lille, 181 Kalvøen store, 67 Karlsbakken, 102 Kipperberg, 103 Kipperholm, 104 Kippervik, 183 Kirstipladsen, 114 Kjellingset, 175 Klevehjellen, 119 Kleven, 59 Klokkerhaugen, 59 Klokkernes, 44 Klokkersund, 127 Knutspladsen, 136 Kollvik, 58 Kongshaugen, 75 Korsnes, 100 Kraaen, 166 Kraakset, 165 Kraaksethagen, 61 Kriken, 127 Kristianspladsen, 152 Kvalstein, 57 Kvasnæs, 109 Langevaag, 142 Langøen, 140 Larsgaarden, 89 Legene, 62 Leirvaag, 38 Lerstad, 183 Lillegjerdet, 26 Lillestølen, 145 Lorgen, 185 Løeggaarden, 109 Løken, 183 Løkereiten, 1 Magerholm, 1 Magerholmsvik, 175 Malimyren, 72 Mauseid, 73 Mauseidvaag, 109 Moldvær, 112 Moldværshavn, 112 Moldværsmyr, 153 Myklebost, 87 Myren, 185 Myren, 37 Nakken, 25 Nedregaarden 5 Nedregoten 146 Nes 127 Nilspladsen 134 Norve lille 1 Nygjerdet 87 Nyhaugen 99 Nymarken, 139 Nørve store, 173 Oggedal, 182 Oksebaasen, 183 Oksnes, 189 Oksnesvik, 175 Olauspladsen, 120 Osen, 176 Ottebakken, 185 Palmen, 27 Præstsæteren, 16 Rabben, 76 Rabben, 12 Ramsvik, 127 Rasmuspladsen, 183 Rasmuspladsen, 45 Ratvik, 29 Reite, 60 Reitehaugen, 3 Reitene, 109 Remmen, 183 Remmen, 21 Remvik, 163 Rot, 189 Røisen, 74 Rørstad, 30 Røset, 8 Røssevold, 96 Salen, 113 Sandvik, 183 Simonpladsen, 120 Skarbøen, 121 Skarbøvik, 183 Skinvik, 186 Skjong, 23 Skoghaugen, 6 Skorene, 42 Skuggen, 18 Skytterholm, 117 Slinningen, 151 Slotsvik, 64 Solevaag, 61 Solevaagseidet, 155 Sperre, 24 Spjelkavik, 23 Spjelkavikgjerdet, 22 Spjelkaviknes, 111 Stadsnes, 128 Staurnes, 176 Steinbakken, 122 Steinvaagnes, 161 Stokke, 162 Stokkereiten, 106 Storholm, 109 Storsteinsmyren, 185 Stranden, 124 Strandklaua, 94 Strømmen, 189 Stølen, 86 Størkerpladsen, 63 Sunde, 107 Svinholm, 154 Svinøen, 137 Sørnes, 175 Søvik, 175 Søvikkleven, 175 Søviknes, 164 Taftesund,89 Teigen,178 Terøen,78 Tranvaag, 120 Trones, 24 Tuen, 135 Tyskholm, 54 Tørlen, 89 Uren, 169 Urkedal, 98 Urvik, 65 Vaagen, 94 Vaagnes, 81 Vaatmyr, 183 Valderhaug, 185 Valderhaugstranden, 77 Valen, 108 Vasholm, 90 Vasset, 28 Vasstrand, 88 Vedde, 89 Veddegjerdet, 15 Vegsund, 59 Veibost, 156 Vik, 68 Vikene, 84 Villumsgaarden, 120 Villumspladsen,133 Volsdal, 144 Volstad nedre, 132 Ystenes, 188 Ytreland, 32 Ytterholen, 12 Ødegaarden,34 Ølsvik, 118 Ølsvik, 35 Ølsvikfeten, 82 Øvregaarden

Probate Records

1689-1801: Probates are found in Sunnmøre judicial district.

1791-1852: Probates are found in Nordre Sunnmøre judicial district.

1707-1807: Clerical probates are found in Sunnmøre Deanery

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 April 2015, at 17:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,898 times.