Broughton AscensionEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Broughton Ascension Chapelry was built by the year 1876, as a district chapelry, lying within the ancient parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of nearly 15 million Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths is at Lancashire BMD.
Broughton Ascension Chapelry has online transcriptions available for accessing and searching, as well does its 'mother' or ancient to which it is attached--Manchester (Cathedral) Our Lady, St George and St Denys.
Thse online transcriptions exist for the baptism, marriage and burial registers to this chapelry as well as for the Cathedral are displayed in the links to the online data content located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:
Online transcriptions exist for this chapelry and as well as for the ancient parish (the Cathedral) of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, for their baptism, marriage and burial registers. Displayed below are the links to the chapelry and the Cathedral transcriptions, located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|FMP = FMP = findmypast|
|LBMD = Lancashire BMD|
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk|
|BROUGHTON ASCENSION Chapelry (1876) Indexes|
|LBMD||1876-1900||1876-1941 - part.||None|
|BROUGHTON-CUM-KERSAL ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1837) Indexes|
|BROUGHTON (HIGHER) ST JAMES (1879) Indexes|
|BROUGHTON ST THOMAS Chapelry (1881) Indexes|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list of all the chapelries and district chapels comprising the ancient parish of Manchester City (Cathedral), and to view all of the links to their respective baptisms, marriages and burials online, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Original parish registers are housed at the Manchester Central Library.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306911.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 23:31.
- This page has been accessed 710 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News