Bureau County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Bureau County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Coordinates: 41.41°0′N 89.53°0′W / 41.41°N 89.53°W / 41.41; -89.53

Bureau County, Illinois
Map
Map of Illinois highlighting Bureau County
Location in the state of Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: February 28, 1837
County Seat Princeton
Courthouse
Bureau County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address County Courthouse
700 S. Main Street
Princeton, Illinois 61356
(815) 875-2014
Bureau County Website
United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Bureau County

Contents

County Organization

Bureau County's civil records start the following years:

Beginning Dates for Bureau County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1878 1837 1878 1840 1817 1837

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Bureau County are kept, see the Bureau County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Bureau County is named for Pierre Bureau (Belleau or de Beuro) who established a trading post on the Illinois River.

Boundary Changes

Prior to County Formation

County Formation and After

  • 1837 - Bureau County created from Putnam County
  • 1839 - Bureau gained from Putnam and unorganized area

For more information see Origin and Evolution of Illinois Counties or Bureau County Fact Sheet (Illinois State Archives). For interactive county boundary maps see Illinois County Boundaries, 1790-Present, Illinois Historical Counties, or For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Records and Resources

Biography

Past and present of Bureau County, Illinois, together with biographical sketches Harrington, George B. (Main Author)

Index to Past and present of Bureau County, Illinois by George B. Harrington

The Biographical record of Bureau, Marshall, Putnam and Stark counties, Illinois

Cemeteries

  • Jennings, Harry and George Lindenmeyer. St. Valentine's Cemetery, Bureau County, Illinois. Ottawa, Illinois: LaSalle County Genealogy Guild, 1998. (WorldCat 51518557; FHL book 977.3372 V3L)

Census

Federal

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190041,112
191043,9757.0%
192042,648−3.0%
193038,845−8.9%
194037,600−3.2%
195037,7110.3%
196037,594−0.3%
197038,5412.5%
198039,1141.5%
199035,688−8.8%
200035,503−0.5%
201034,978−1.5%
IL Counties 1900-1990
For tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.

State

1840 Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Bureau County on page 186.]

Church Records

Lutheran

aka Evangelical

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at Northern Illinois University - search for Bureau County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the NIU IRAD Wiki Page

  • 1870-1915 Circuit Court Record, Criminal IRAD-NIU
  • 1872-1950 Court Records IRAD-NIU
  • 1894-1915 County Court Dockets IRAD-NIU
  • 1904-1952 County Court Record, Criminal IRAD-NIU
  • 1930-1956 County Court Information Record IRAD-NIU
  • 1938-1946 County Court Miscellaneous Record IRAD-NIU

Directories

Bureau County directory

The complete name index to The Voters and tax-payers of Bureau County, Illinois, 1877

Names & locations from the Bureau County, Illinois directory

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

Illinois Ancestors

History

  • The Biographical Record of Bureau, Marshall and Putnam Counties, Illinois. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1896. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Harrington, George B. Past and Present of Bureau County, Illinois. Chicago: Pioneer Pub. Co., 1906. Digital version at Ancestry ($); Another Ancestry ($) version; Internet Archive.
  • A Brief History of Bureau County also contains a list of Museums in Bureau County.

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online, through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Northern Illinois University- search for Bureau County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the NIU Wiki page.

Online Resources

Copies of Original Records

  • 1816-1900 Deed Index IRAD-NIU; search for Bureau County Records. (Learn more about IRAD.)
  • 1856-1878 Swamp Land Record IRAD-NIU
  • 1923-1935 Chattel Mortgage Index IRAD-NIU
  • 1931-1956 Chattel Mortgage Record IRAD-NIU
  • 1949-1959 Chattel Mortgage Entry Books IRAD-NIU

Abstracts

Maps

Ilbureau.jpg

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Bureau County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Bureau County.

- 9th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company K.
- 12th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies H and I.
- 12th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Companies H and I.
- 15th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company L.
- 27th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I
- 33rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- 52nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 57th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, F, H and K.
- 64th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (Yates’ Sharpshooters), Company B.
- 66th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 88th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 93rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, C, E, H, I and K.
- 139th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies A, G, and H.
- 146th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies F and H.
- 148th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, E, and K.
- 151st Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Companies F, G and H.
- 153rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company E.

Naturalization

  • 1837-1923 Naturalization Papers IRAD-NIU; search for Bureau County Records. (Learn more about IRAD.)

Newspapers and Obituaries

A good collection of obituaries and death notices can be found at Genealogy Trails.

Periodicals

Probate Records

  • 1837-1900, 1906-1955 Probate Records IRAD-NIU; search for Bureau County Records. (Learn more about IRAD.)

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Bureau County are kept, see the Bureau County Courthouse page

Family History Centers

Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD)

The Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD), managed by the Illinois State Archives, houses the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois.

The Northern Illinois University (IRAD-NIU) holds the records for Bureau County. Learn more about finding and using their records.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository
c/o Regional History Center
Founders Memorial Library, Room 400
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
Telephone: (815) 753-1807

Bureau County Historical Society Library and Museum

Public Libraries

Social Groups Online

Societies

Bureau County Genealogical Society 629 S. Main Street • Princeton IL 61356 • (815) 879-3133

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois.

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Bureau County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Northern Illinois University (NIU) - search for Bureau County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Births

Marriages

  • 1856–1895 Cass, Mrs. Allan W. Marriages of North Prairie area, beginning with the first recorded minister, 1856-1895 Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1977. FHL film 982434 Item 20

Deaths

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Bureau County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Bureau – Vital Records, the Illinois, Bureau – Vital Records - Newspaper indexes, and the Illinois, Bureau – Vital Records - newspapers topic pages of the Family History Library catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Voter Registration

Illinois Voting Registratiion

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/1/10/Igiillinoisac.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 March 2014, at 01:29.
  • This page has been accessed 15,109 times.