Cameron County, TexasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Texas go to Counties C go to Cameron County

Guide to Cameron County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Texas
Online Records
Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Cameron County, Texas
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 12, 1848
County Seat Brownsville
Courthouse
Address Cameron County Courthouse
PO Box 2178
Brownsville, Texas 78522-2178
Phone: 956.544.0817
Cameron County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth, death and military records from
1848, marriage records from 1800, land records from 1845,
probate records from 1850 and court records from 1964[1]



The county was named for Ewen Cameron, (1811?-1843). On July 7, 1842, Cameron took part in the engagement at Lipantitlán against Gen. Antonio Canales. Samuel H. Walker attributed much of the credit for the successful defense of the position to Cameron. At the battle of Mier, "The fearless Cameron, whose company garrisoned the back yard of one of the houses, being charged by an imposing force of the enemy, after emptying his rifles into their lines, beat off the foe until he could reload, with the loose stones in the court." At Pass Suarte, after Fisher and the staff officers had been separated from the command, the Mier prisoners unanimously chose Cameron as their commander. On Saturday, February 19, Cameron and about sixty men were recaptured by Mexicans and subjected with other groups to the Black Bean Episode. Cameron drew a white bean in the lottery, but was shot for a later attempt at escape.


Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Towns and Cities: | Bayview | Brownsville | Cameron Park | Combes | Harlingen | Indian Lake | La Feria | Laguna Vista | Los Fresnos | Los Indios | Palm Valley | Port Isabel | Primera | Rancho Viejo | Rangerville | Rio Hondo | San Benito | Santa Rosa | South Padre Island |

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information. 

Online Grave Transcripts  Published Grave Transcripts  County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

WorldCat 

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves 

Cemeteries of Texas

Names in Stone

See Texas Cemeteries for more information.
Additional Cemetery Sources


Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cameron County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • Texas Museums  ~  List of all museums in Texas  ~  Hidden Ancestors

Maps

Txcameron.jpg

  • Historical Maps  ~  From the Republic to the Turn of the Century  ~  Hidden Ancestors

Military

Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Cameron County. 

Map showing Civil War battles in Texas.


Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cameron County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records


A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
    Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce


Societies and Libraries

Caprock Public Library
104 N 1st St
Quitaque, TX 79255
Phone: (806) 455-1225[1]

Society Hill  ~  Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
  • Hidden Ancestors  Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cameron County, Texas. Page 660 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
 

Cameron County; PO Box 2178; Brownsville, TX 78522-2178; Ph. 956.544.0817 Details: (Co Clk has b, d & mil rec from 1848, m rec from 1800, land rec from 1845, pro rec from 1850 & ct rec from 1964)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 August 2013, at 20:07.
  • This page has been accessed 15,345 times.