Clayton St CrossEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Clayton St Cross Chapelry was built by the year 1857, as a district chapelry, lying within the ancient parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys (near Salford).
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of nearly 15 million Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths is at Lancashire BMD.
Online transcriptions exist for Clayton St Cross Chapelry, as well as its 'mother' or ancient parish to which it is attached--Manchester (Cathedral) Our Lady, St George and St Denys.
These online transcriptions are available for the baptism, marriage and burial registers to this chapelry as well as those for the Cathedral and there are links to this online data located at the web sites indicated below; note the ranges of years:
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|FMP = FMP = FindMyPast|
|LBMD = Lancashire BMD|
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk|
|CLAYTON ST CROSS Chapelry (1857) Indexes; see also Droylsden|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes (ancient parish containing CLAYTON ST CROSS Chapelry)
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list of all the (over 150) chapelries and district chapels comprising the ancient parish of Manchester City (Cathedral), and to view all of the links to their respective baptisms, marriages and burials online, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Original parish registers are housed at the Manchester Central Library.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306911. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 31 October 2012, at 00:32.
- This page has been accessed 339 times.