Cockerham, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Cockerham, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See a List of Chapelries in Cockerham Parish.

Cockerham, Lancashire
Cockerham St Michael Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Lancaster PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1595
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COCKERHAM (St. Michael), a parish, in the unions of Garstang and Lancaster, partly in the hundred of Amounderness, but chiefly in the hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster; comprising the chapelry of Ellel,and part of the townships of Cleveley, Forton, and Holleth. Other places in the parish include: Cleveley, Forton, Thurnham with Abbey Farm, Crook Farm, Light House and Brow House, Thurnham, and Holleth.[1]

The village of Cockerham is located on the River Cocker, at the estuary of the River Lune and close by Cockersand Abbey, Lancashire Cockerham has lain within the historic county boundaries of Lancashire since the Middle Ages. It formed a township and parish within the hundred of Lonsdale and district of Lancaster. Between 1894 and 1974, Cockerham lay within the Lancaster Rural District. It is now part of the City Of Lancaster.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records The parish registers for Cockerham Parish have been transcribed and are available online at the following web sites and the specified range of years:


FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


COCKERHAM ST MICHAEL PARISH (1595) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1595-1885 1595-1657; 1744-1874 None
LOPC 1595-1893  1595-1874  1595-1812
LBMD None 1837-1972 None
FMP None 1595-1837 None
AC 1595-1657 1595-1657 1595-1657
DOLPHINHOLME St John the Evangelist Chapelry (1839) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
AC None None None
ELLEL ST JOHN Chapelry (1726) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1726-1830 1724-1744 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1937 1858-1988 1837-1937
SHIRESHEAD Chapelry (1742) Indexes  - partly also in Garstang Parish (see)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1742-1829 None None
LOPC None None None
AC None None None

These parish and chapel registers of baptisms, marriages and burials are held at the Lancashire Record Office, Bow Lane, Preston PR1 2RE, UK. Also, microfilmed copies of these same church registers are held at and may be circulated to the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, UT, USA and its over 4,600 familysearch centers worldwide. 

Cockerham- St Michael Parish Registers
Baptisms-1659-1743- MFPR 1011
Baptisms-1744-1893- MFPR 1012
Baptisms Transcript-1595-1658- 929.3272 C14
Burials-1659-1743- MFPR 1011
Burials-1744-1812- MFPR 1012
Burials-1813-1843- MFPR 1013
Burials Transcript-1595-1657- 929.3272 C14
Marriages-1659-1743- MFPR 1011
Marriages-1744-1840- MFPR 1012
Marriages-1841-1874- MFPR 1013
Marriages Transcript-1595-1657- 929.3272 C14

For possible viewing of some of these original registers of the above please also visit The Manchester Room,  at Greater Manchester County Record Office, Manchester Central Library.
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk  

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306914.


Poor Law Unions

Lancaster Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

  • 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Cockerham. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692. Includes Thurnham.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 647-654. Date accessed: 17 September 2013.

Websites

 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 7,486 times.