Czech Republic Church Books from the Brno Moravian Land ArchivesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Back to Czech Republic Page►
Brno Moravian Land Archive is in the process of digitizing parish registers and making them available through the digital archive.
Go to: http://www.actapublica.eu/
You may choose Czech or German language by clicking on the Czech or German flag in the upper left corner. To access a search box, you may do one of three things:
- Hover your cursor over the first brown tab on the right Vyhledávání or Suche and select MZA Brno.
- Click on the book image and then select Moravský zemský archiv Brno from the search box next to Vyhledávání or Suche. This is usually a default.
- Click on the magnyfying glass symbol in the top left corner of the screen and then select Moravský zemský archiv Brno from the search box next to Vyhledávání or Suche. This is usually a default.
Please note that there are 4 different archives that share this database.
How to search
You will see a search box. Under Obec or Gemeinde type the locality. As you type a selection appears below, you may now select a locality from the list. Click the Hledat or Suchen button to display the list of records available for the locality. Choose the register type and time frame you wish to search. Click on the magnyfying glass symbol in the last column under Obr.data or Bilddaten to browse the images. If you do not see the symbol, the images are not yet available.
- Narození or Geborene-baptisms
Oddaní or Vertrauene-marriages
Zemřelí or Gestorbene-deaths
- If you put your cursor over the number next to the Obce a list of villages included in that register will be displayed.
Registration is only required if you wish to post comments on the message board, use bookmark option, write notes and network with other researchers.
Church books contain baptism (birth), marriage, and burial (death) information and are definitely the best source for identifying one’s relatives in the Czech Republic.
Entries are usually arranged in chronological order and, after 1784, in a columnar format. Sometimes, baptisms, marriages, and burials are kept all for all villages in a parish, for each year. Other times, each village has its own section of baptisms, marriages, and burials, listed chronologically. Some records are in preprinted forms. Most records include indexes. Czech church records are usually in one of three languages: Czech, German, or Latin.
While the books have been kept to the present, they are only available for research through about 1910 because of privacy laws. The church books cover a majority of the population.
Baptismal entries usually contain the following:
- names of the child, parents, godparents, and sometimes grandparents
- date and place of birth and baptism
- residence and religion of the parents
- whether the child was legitimate or illegitimate
Marriage entries usually contain the following:
- names of the bride, groom, their parents, witnesses, and sometimes grandparents
- date and place of marriage
- residence and religion of the bride and groom
- age, previous marital status, and occupation of bride and groom
Burial entries usually contain the following:
- names of the deceased and spouse/parents
- date and place of death and burial
- residence and religion of the deceased
- age and cause of death of the deceased
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2012, at 14:59.
- This page has been accessed 6,467 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More