Czech Republic Church Books from the Třeboň Regional ArchiveEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Back to Czech Republic Page►
Třeboň Regional Archive made their parish registers available through its digital archive with an English interface.
Go to: http://digi.ceskearchivy.cz/
Click on the Parish Registers folder on the left. Choose type of registers according to religion. Click on the beginning letter of the parish. Select the parish and choose the register type and time frame you wish to search.
Church books contain baptism (birth), marriage, and burial (death) information and are definitely the best source for identifying one’s relatives in the Czech Republic.
Entries are usually arranged in chronological order and, after 1784, in a columnar format. Sometimes, baptisms, marriages, and burials are kept all for all villages in a parish, for each year. Other times, each village has its own section of baptisms, marriages, and burials, listed chronologically. Some records are in preprinted forms. Most records include indexes. Czech church records are usually in one of three languages: Czech, German, or Latin.
While the books have been kept to the present, they are only available for research through 1905 because of privacy laws. The church books cover a majority of the population.
Baptismal entries usually contain the following:
- names of the child, parents, godparents, and sometimes grandparents
- date and place of birth and baptism
- residence and religion of the parents
- whether the child was legitimate or illegitimate
Marriage entries usually contain the following:
- names of the bride, groom, their parents, witnesses, and sometimes grandparents
- date and place of marriage
- residence and religion of the bride and groom
- age, previous marital status, and occupation of bride and groom
Burial entries usually contain the following:
- names of the deceased and spouse/parents
- date and place of death and burial
- residence and religion of the deceased
- age and cause of death of the deceased
- This page was last modified on 22 August 2012, at 16:52.
- This page has been accessed 8,540 times.