Delaware GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States Delaware
Guide to Delaware genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records
- This article is about the eastern U.S. state. For other uses, see Delaware (disambiguation).
Welcome to the Delaware page,
the First State
- DE was part of "New Sweden." Many early church records were in Swedish.
- Later, Delaware was also briefly part of New Netherland.
- Due to boundary disputes, some early DE land records are found in MD.
|How to Find Information about Delaware Genealogy Ancestors|
Click on the map to go to a county page. Hover over it to see a county name. To see a larger map, click here.
Major RepositoriesDelaware Public Archives · Historical Society of Delaware · Delaware Genealogical Society · National Archives Mid Atlantic Region (Philadelphia) · Allen County Public Library
The article, United States Emigration and Immigration lists several important sources for finding information about immigrants. These nationwide sources include references to people who settled in Delaware. Also, the Tracing Immigrant Origins article introduces the principles, search strategies, and additional record types you can use to identify an immigrant ancestor's hometown.
- The Delaware GenWeb Project provides county information about formation date, parent county, county seat, bibliography, cemeteries, census, churches, towns, history, look ups, obituaries, queries, repositories, surname registry, and many Internet links.
- Delaware Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- How to order Delaware Vital Records
- State of Delaware County & City Government Court links
- Rotating Formation Delaware County Boundary Maps and Atlases
- Looking 4 Kin Genealogy & Family History Network - Delaware
- Delaware Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- List of Delaware Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- History & Facts of Delaware Counties
- Family Tree Encyclopedia - Terminology & Meanings of Genealogical Terms
- Printable Genealogy Forms used in Research
Wiki articles describing these articles are found at:
- Delaware Births and Christenings (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Delaware State Birth Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Delaware, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Delaware Deaths and Burials (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Delaware State Death Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Delaware Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Delaware State Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records
- Delaware Vital Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Delaware, Vital Record Index Cards (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Delawarre Wilmington City Vital Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Obtain additional help
- Call or chat with an experienced researcher
- Join a Facebook Group
- Consult a Professional Genealogist
Help with the Delaware Wiki pages
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need willing volunteers. You can help:
- Expand county articles
- Check links on pages
- ...and more
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 03:49.
- This page has been accessed 29,548 times.