Dougherty County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Dougherty County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Dougherty County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||December 15, 1853|
|Address|| Dougherty County Courthouse|
222 Pine Avenue
Albany, GA 31703-5301
Dougherty County Website
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Georgia counties see: Georgia Counties with Burned Courthouses
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Dougherty County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
- History and Reminiscences of Dougherty County, Georgia. Albany, Ga.: Herald Pub. Co., 1924. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Albany Herald - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1973-2009
- Albany Sunday Herald - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1977-1992
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dougherty County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills 1854-1866 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Wills, Vol. 1, 1854-1925 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Annual Returns and Vouchers 1849-1917 Georgia Pioneers
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..
- 1854-1871 - Dougherty County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1854-1871. Batch M712681 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1871-1882 - Dougherty County Marriage Book 3 Index 1871-1882. Batch M712682 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1882-1892 - Dougherty County Marriage Book 4 Index 1882-1892. Batch M712683 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1891-1895 - Dougherty County Marriage Book 5 Index 1891-1895. Batch M712684 at FamilySearch - free.
Death Record Substitutes
- 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Dougherty County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
- Dougherty County, Georgia Obituary Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. Collected from funeral homes in the Albany, Bridgeboro, Putney, and the Southwestern Georgia area.
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Dougherty County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Dougherty County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dougherty County, Georgia. Page 154 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
|This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 24 March 2014, at 16:20.
- This page has been accessed 6,457 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Give feedback on our new look! Tell us what you like, and what you would do differently.Give Feedback