Downall Green or Garswood EndEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes


Parish History

Downall Green or Garswood End Holy Trinity became a chapelry with a chapel built by the year 1838, in the then chapelry of Ashton-in-Makerfield which itself was created a parish by act of Parliament in 1845.

Also nearby in Haydock stood a district chapel which was created in 1866. See Ashton-in-Makerfield St Thomas for further information about the churches serving within the parish boundaries.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Downall Green chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Ashton in Makerfield to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS =
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
AC =
FREG = FreeReg

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1838-1882  None None
ASHTON IN MAKERFIELD ST THOMAS PARISH (1698) Indexes (ancient parish containing DOWNALL GREEN Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1822-1837 None None
LOPC 1698-1900 1700-1753; 1845-1909 1746-1903

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Downall Green and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ashton in Makerfield to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ASHTON IN MAKERFIELD PARISH page.

The chapel registers to this chapelry may be located at Wigan Record Office, Town Hall, Leigh, Lancashire WN7 2DY. Or, try contacting the church to determine availability of these registers.

Census records

The following web  sites have online content of census records from 1841 to 1911 inclusive;

  • Ancestry
  • FindMyPast
  • TheGenealogist

Poor Law Unions

Wigan Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.




Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 23:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,431 times.