Fisher County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Fisher County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Fisher County, Texas|
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||August 21, 1876|
The first settlers arrived in 1876.
1876--Fisher County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District. County seat: Roby 
Fisher County is named for Samuel Rhoads Fisher, a signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence and a Secretary of the Navy of the Republic of Texas. Fisher County is one of 30 prohibition, or entirely dry, counties in the state of Texas.
See an interactive map of Fisher County boundary changes.
- Bickerstaff, William Lee
- Bowman, Joseph Wylie
- Crane Sr., Royston Campbell
- Fisher, Samuel Rhoads
- Kiefer, J. Frank
- Martin, William Patrick
- Rector, Ray
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Cemetery Index - Fisher County TXGenWeb
- USGW Tombstone Transcription Project Fisher County - USGenWeb
- USGW Archives Fisher County Cemeteries - USGenWeb
- Find-A-Grave - Texas
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Fisher County Churches - Fisher County TXGenWeb
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Fisher County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Biographies - Fisher County TXGenWeb
- Family Records - Fisher County TXGenWeb
- Historical Photos - Fisher County TXGenWeb
- Surnames - Fisher County TXGenWeb
Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fisher County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has digitized Abilene newspapers that may include residents from Fisher County.
- Wikipedia has a list of online newspaper archives for Texas.
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 Texas, Death Index, 1964-1998 (FamilySearch Historical Records) Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
Original Death Records on Microfilm
Societies and Libraries
106 NE 1st Street
Roby, TX 79543
404 E. Sammy Baugh Avenue
Rotan, TX 79546
Family History Centers
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), F isher County, Texas. Page 663 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 18 February 2014, at 02:27.
- This page has been accessed 6,184 times.