Fredericksville Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Fredericksville Parish

Contents

History

Fredericksville Parish has served Louisa and Albemarle counties. "An old mountain chapel (where Walker's Church afterward stood)," Lower Church (aka Trinity Church), Middle Church, and a church sometimes called Buckmountain Church belonged to this parish.[1][2]

Founded

Resources

Parish History

Meade's 1861 history of Fredericksville Parish is available online.[1]

Fredericksville Parish reports:[4]

Parish Records

Colonial parish registers have been lost.

Marriages from 1782 to 1785 and some with no dates have been abstracted: FHL Film 850108 Item 4.

Vestry Books
  • Davis, Rosalie Edith Rogers. Fredericksville Parish Vestry Book, 1742-1787. 2 vols. Manchester, Mo.: R.E. Davis, 1978, 1981. FHL Book 975.54 K2d

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  2. "First Buck Mountain Church," The Historical Marker Database, http://www.hmdb.org/marker.asp?marker=21690, accessed 13 January 2012; "The History of Buck Mountain Church," http://buckmountainchurch.org/History.html, accessed 19 February 2011.
  3. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  4. Francis Lister Hawks, A Narrative of Events Connected with the Rise and Progress of the Protestant Episcopal Church in Virginia: To Which is Added an Appendix, Containing the Journals of the Conventions in Virginia from the Commencement to the Present Time (New York: Harper and Brothers, 1836). Digital version at Google Books.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 4,798 times.